Getting behind the wheel while intoxicated is never a smart move. In Texas, taking the driver's seat while under the influence means putting yourself just one police cruiser away from collecting a DUI—and that's a comparatively good ending considering that intoxicated drivers caused 24,666 crashes in the state in 2019. Remember, you're too drunk to drive in Texas if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher.
Handling a DUI is uncomfortable and costly. This mistake means you could be facing anything from fines to criminal charges and jail time. And while the financial and relational fallout from such an event can be varied, everyone experiences higher car insurance rates––even with a first offense. When insurance companies spot a DUI on your record, they automatically charge you more to compensate for the driving risk you've become. Though rate increases in Texas are among some of the nation's lowest for a first-time offense, repeat offenses can move your insurance rates sky-high.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
If you've been charged with a DUI, you know it touches many aspects of your life—from your driving record to your relationships to your bank statement. But what about your insurance rates?
You're always better off having a clean driving record when it comes to keeping car insurance rates low. Drivers with a DUI on record pay $137 more per month in car insurance premiums than those without a DUI conviction in Texas. A single mistake can raise your insurance costs a whopping 54 percent, from $252 to $389. This eye-opening rate hike should be enough to make any motorist commit to making much better decisions behind the wheel next time.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
There are plenty of car insurance companies available to insure your ride for less, even after you add a DUI to your record. You'll be familiar with some names, like Nationwide and Travelers, while others will take some getting to know, like AssuranceAmerica and Elephant.com.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$210|
Though your car insurance rate can differ due to individual circumstances, the average rate for motorists in Texas with a DUI on their record is $389 a month to remain on the road. This makes Texas the 21st most expensive state for receiving a DUI relative to the rest of the country.
Taking your time to compare car insurance rates is probably the best decision you can make after adding a DUI to your record. You'll want to compare prices and products to maximize your coverage and discounts.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
The state of Texas has a lifetime lookback period for DUIs. This means that a DUI is on your driving record for life and will always be considered criminally along with other subsequent DUI offenses. However, car insurance companies only consider your DUI for the purposes of deciding your premium for a period of three to five years.
Lower insurance rates are all the more reason for you to keep a clean driving record after a DUI violation. While you can find adequate (but more expensive) coverage after a first offense, your insurance premium should decrease over time as long as you continue to make reliable driving decisions.
Though age, license type, and particular circumstances affect the penalties for a DUI in Texas, first-time offenders face up to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. Additional restrictions include enrollment in alcohol education programs and the possibility of having an ignition interlock device put on your vehicle.
The state has made penalties for minors somewhat extreme, hoping that first-time offenders will take note at such an impressionable age and not make the same mistake twice. Minors can be charged as adults for their first DUI, including losing their license for up to a year. Felony charges can even be brought against minors charged with a third or subsequent DUI.