South Carolina Car Insurance Information
Requirement : No
Car insurance is required in South Dakota . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and uninsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, and uninsured motorist coverage is required:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage per accident.
- Uninsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one person.
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage coverage per accident
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, and uninsured coverage is the only requirements for South Dakota motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- Registering with the South Dakota DMV as an uninsured motorist. To do so, you must pay a $550 annual fee, and qualify by meeting the following qualifications:
- Held a valid driver’s license for at least 3 years.
- Every other driver in your household has held a valid driver’s license for at least 3 years.
- Not currently required to have an SR22 certification.
- Have not been convicted of the following within 3 years:
- Reckless driving
- 2 or more accidents that have caused over $600 in injuries or $1,000 in property damages.
- *More can be found on the South Dakota DMV site
- If you qualify, and wish to register for uninsured motorist status, you must complete the FR-510 application form.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times. Registered uninsured motorists may show a copy of the approved uninsured motorist status.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- The declaration page of your policy.
- Current liability insurance binder or policy.
- Signed letter from an insurance agent or company official on company letter head.
- Copy of your South Dakota Assigned Risk Plan application.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- Should you be found operating a vehicle without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage, you face:
- $100 - $200 fine for first offense.
- Up to 30 days in jail.
- $200 fine for second offense.
- Up to 30 days in jail.
- 45 days to 6 months in jail for subsequent offenses within 5 years.
A SR22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
- An SR-22 certification may be required to reinstate your license or registration if you’ve been convicted of:
- DWI or DUI
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance or registered as an uninsured driver.
- Failing to have a valid SR-22 if required.
- The length of time you must hold an SR22 varies depending on the offense, and number of offenses.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All South Dakota drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the Associated Auto Insurers Plan of South Dakota (AAIPSC).
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit history
- Driving history
- Marital status
- Year, make, model of vehicle
- Neighborhood, city of residence
- Primary use of vehicle
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in South Dakota:
- Anti-theft discount.
- Defensive driving discount.
- Good student discount.
- Safety features discount.
- Low mileage discount.
- Multi-policy discount.
- Multi-vehicle discount.
There is no ban on cellphone use while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $25 fine for the first offense, $50 fine for subsequent offenses.
South Carolina Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in South Carolina
Full Insurance Laws for South Carolina