Michigan Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Michigan . Drivers must have a minimum of five types of no-fault personal injury protection; bodily injury liability, property damage protection, uninsured motorist, property protection, personal injury protection.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
- Bodily injury liability – Covers you in case you cause an accident in which another person is hurt.
- $20,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- Property damage protection – Covers you in case you cause an accident and damage another’s property.
- $10,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party.
- $20,000 per person.
- $40,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage – Covers the private property of a renter or owner of a structure, and its contents.
- $1 million
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- Unlimited with a $0, $300 or $500 deductible.
- * PIP coverage will cover you and your passengers’ injuries from a car accident regardless of who is at fault.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Bodily injury liability, Property damage protection, Uninsured motorist coverage, Uninsured motorist coverage, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage are the only requirement for Michigan motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Michigan requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: No
Your car registration will provide your car insurance information, as well as proof of insurance.
Insurance Violations: You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- $200 - $500 fine.
- Up to 1 year in jail.
- $30 – day driver’s license suspension, or until you can show proof of financial responsibility.
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Michigan:
- Good student discount
- Homeowner discount
- Multi-vehicle discount
- Multi-policy discount
There are not handheld cell phone prohibitions for the state of Michigan, expect for the city of Detroit. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $100 fine for the first offense, $250 fine for the subsequent offenses.
Michigan Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Michigan
- Everest National
- Foremost Insurance
- Grange Insurance
- Hanover Insurance Group
Full Insurance Laws for Michigan