DUIs come with tons of consequences—even after paying your penalties to the DMV and the state. What some people don't recognize right away is that DUIs have a significant impact on insurance rates. Why? When your policy was first established, you were assigned a certain level of risk. While this risk took into account your driving record, it didn't consider a DUI. DUI driving is risky behavior. Car insurance companies account for this behavior by increasing your risk and your premiums.
When you shop for insurance, keep in mind that Michigan has the most expensive post-DUI insurance rates in the country. The best way to comb through these rates is to compare insurance providers online using a site like Insurify. Instead of calling one insurance provider after another, use Insurify to compare dozens of rates in minutes.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
When you begin shopping for insurance policies in Michigan after a DUI, you'll find premiums to be incredibly high. Rates here increase by 150 percent after such high-risk behavior.
How much are post-DUI premiums exactly? Drivers should anticipate rates to go up by as much as $720 per month on average. This means a monthly bill of around $1,200. Though these are averages, being familiar with these figures should help you home in on a good deal when you see one.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Prices are going to be high in Michigan after your DUI. The best way to find the lowest rates is to include as many car insurance companies as possible in your search. We ran the numbers. The three most affordable insurance companies after a DUI in Michigan include Arrowhead, Liberty Mutual, and American Family Insurance.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$809|
After a DUI, drivers can expect to pay $1,200 per month in premiums. If that sounds high to you, that's because it is! Michigan is the most expensive state in the country for insurance after a DUI. Keep this in mind as you shop around.
One way to keep insurance rates low is to increase your deductible. Or you can opt to have only the state minimum coverage. Keeping a clean record for the next several years will enable insurance companies to recalculate your rates.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
When you are faced with a DUI conviction, courts look back over your record for a certain period to count DUI offenses as relevant to sentencing. Michigan has two lookback periods, depending on the offense.
The second time you get a DUI, the lookback period is seven years. If you have a first offense within that same seven years, the second DUI is treated with substantially harsher penalties. Michigan has a lifetime lookback period for third and subsequent offenses.
Michigan drivers face jail time, fines, and driver's license suspension after a DUI. Each time you get a DUI conviction, enhanced penalties apply.
First-time offenders face up to 93 days in jail and $1,500 in fees and fines. Penalties also include up to 360 hours of community service and six points added to their driving record. Some drivers may even have to install an ignition interlock device.