Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in MO
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Missouri roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The minimum liability car insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Missouri are as follows:
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI)
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Missouri state law are $25,000 for the death or injury of a single victim as a result of a car accident and $50,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. Insurance companies list this type of coverage as 25/50, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimum. If you’re in an accident, liability coverage will cover the cost of a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Missouri law.
- $10,000/accident for Property Damage (PD)
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of Missouri is $10,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are required in Missouri. This coverage protects drivers who might incur damages from an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered. In Missouri, the legally required level of Uninsured Motorist coverage is:
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury