Maryland Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Maryland . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $60,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $15,000 for property damage liability per accident.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- $2,500 for bodily injury to one person.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- $30,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $60,000 for bodily injury to per accident.
- $15,000 for property damage coverage per accident
- * Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can be waved and replaced with limited PIP coverage.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are the only requirements for Maryland motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage. Should you not purchase comprehensive or collision coverage, it may be purchased on your behalf, and charged back to you at a premium.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- $75,000 cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
- The Motor Vehicle Associate (MVA) only accepts Maryland Insurance Certification forms as proof of insurance.
- Insurance cards are not a valid form of proof of insurance in Maryland.
- When registering your vehicle, you must submit a signed Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19) as proof of minimum coverage.
- Photocopies of your FR-19 are not valid at the MVA
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- All Insurance statuses are monitored electronically through the MVA
- Your insurance carrier is required to report all cancelations, or lapses in coverage to the MVA.
- An FR-19 request will be sent when the MVA is notified of any changes in your car insurance status.
- Should you be found operating a vehicle without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage, you face:
- Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration
- $150 fine for the first 30 days
- $7 fine for each additional day
- Refusal to register or renew any vehicles registration.
- $30 registration restoration fee.
- * False proof of insurance may result in:
- 1 year of imprisonment
- $1,000 fine
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Maryland drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers that cannot find car insurance through a private provider may apply for coverage through the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Driving history
- Make, model of car
- Marital status
- Credit history
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Maryland:
- Anti-theft discount
- Good student discount
- Homeowner’s discount
- Safety equipment discount
- Multi-vehicle discount
All drivers are banned from using hand held cell phones. Novice drivers, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using both hand held or hands free mobile devices. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $40 - $100 fine.
Maryland Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Maryland
Full Insurance Laws for Maryland