Florida Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Florida . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and personal injury protection.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability and Personal Injury Protection coverage is required:
- $10,000 for damage to property.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- PIP insurance will also cover:
- Your child and other members of your household.
- Your child when he or she is riding on a school bus.
- You when you’re a pedestrian or bicyclist, and involved in a car accident.
- Passengers in your vehicle who do not have their own PIP insurance, don’t own a car.
You when you’re a passenger in someone else’s car
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability and PIP coverage are the only requirements for Florida motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- $30,000 Surety bond.
- $30,000 cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of financial responsibility with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- Policy binder.
- Certificate of financial responsibility.
Getting Pulled Over:
- If you’re pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
You are required to have proof of car insurance in the state of Florida , if you are pulled over and cannot provide proof of insurance, or other forms of financial responsibility, you may face the following penalties:
- $150 for first offense.
- $250 for second offense.
- $500 for each subsequent offense.
A SR22 may be required if you have any of the following:
- You’re involved in a car accident that causes injuries or property damage.
- You’ve had your driver’s license suspended due to excessive traffic violation points.
- Your driver’s license has been revoked in the past.
* If found guilty of driving without car insurance, you may have to carry a 6 month non-cancelable SR-22 for up to 2 years. A 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 requires upfront 6 month premium payment in full.
* An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
If convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to purchase additional insurance beyond the state minimums, as well as file an FR-44 form as proof of additional coverage. An FR-44 is required for at least 3 years from the date of suspension. Additional coverage amounts include:
- $100,000 for bodily injury/death to one person.
- $300,000 for bodily injury/death per accident.
- $50,000 for damage to property.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Florida drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit history
- Driving history
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Florida:
- Anti-theft discount
- Advanced quote discount
- Driver safety course discount
- Senior driver discount
- Good student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Military discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Multi-vehicle discount
- Prepaid discount
- Safety features discount
There is no limitations on cellphone use while driving in Florida. Texting and driving, however, is banned, and considered a secondary offense. “A person may not operate a motor vehicle while manually typing or entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols, or other characters into a wireless communications device or while sending or reading data in such a device for the purpose of nonvoice interpersonal communication, including, but not limited to, communication methods known as texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging.” Violators will face a $30 fine.
Florida Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Florida
- Foremost Insurance
- Personable Insurance
Full Insurance Laws for Florida