Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in West Palm Beach, FL (2021)

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for you in The Sunshine State.

Compare all car insurance quotes in one place

Compare Quotes

Personalized quotes in less than 2 minutes.

No signup required

As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.

If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.

The 70 mph speed limit on I-95 is one thing you should take notice of while visiting West Palm Beach. Another thing you should remember? Car insurance. You always have to have it with you while driving in the Sunshine State.

There are 483 miles of toll roads in the Florida Turnpike System—some stretching through West Palm Beach. For the more forgetful among us, drivers can buy a SunPass to make getting through toll stops less painful. Finding good car insurance can be less painful, too—but forgetting about insurance altogether can be the biggest mistake you ever make.

Car Insurance in West Palm Beach, FL

The average cost of Florida car insurance will vary from city to city and between insurance companies. Insurify analyzed the latest insurance rates in West Palm Beach, FL to find you the cheapest quotes in the area.

Loading Chart

Cheapest Car Insurance in West Palm Beach, FL

Here are the cheapest carriers in West Palm Beach for the following user profile: a single, 30 year old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance.

Best Car Insurance in West Palm Beach, FL

The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, mobile app reviews, and user-generated carrier reviews. The following are the top rated carriers that offer car insurance in West Palm Beach. For the complete list, see Insurify's best car insurance companies.

Average Car Insurance Cost

Loading Chart

Click here to learn about car insurance quotes and save on your current policy.

West Palm Beach, FL Driving Facts

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in FL

All motor vehicles operated or parked on Florida roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:

  • Requested by law enforcement
  • Renewing vehicle registration
  • The vehicle is involved in a car accident

The Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles are as follows:

  • $10,000 no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance

Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Florida state is $10,000.  In the case of an accident, liability coverage can aid perpetrators with costs involved in a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Florida law.

  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance

The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverag  required in the state of Florida is $10,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident, up to the declared coverage limit.

florida

West Palm Beach Car Insurance Rates by Driver Age

Most teenagers will have to skip insurance without a little help from mom and dad, at a price of $754 per month—a rent payment in many parts of the country. In the Sunshine State, as driving experience increases, prices go down. That’s made clear by the dramatic $300 reduction young adults get with a few more years behind the wheel. The prices continue in a downward trajectory with slight bumps during middle age. People in their 60s get the best break and pay $400 less than the teens.

Driver's AgeAvg. Monthly Cost
teens$754
20s$434
30s$381
40s$446
50s$425
60s$314
70s$323
80s$353
Driving HistoryAvg. Monthly Cost
No Violation$388
Speeding Ticket$404
At-Fault Accident$472
Failure to Stop for Red Light / Stop Sign$338

West Palm Beach Car Insurance Rates by Driving and Accident History

In West Palm Beach, it pays to be a safe driver. Insurance companies give “good driver” and “accident-free” discounts to people with clean records. Why do drivers with a failure to stop pay less than those with no violations? Drivers with violations often choose to strip their policies to the lowest protection possible, meaning they may choose liability or PIP only and not comprehensive or collision coverage. A violation or at-fault accident stops affecting insurance rates after three years.

West Palm Beach Car Insurance Rates by Credit Tier

Many Floridians wonder what exactly credit has to do with driving ability. The state allows insurance companies to decide rates based on credit, and they claim the numbers paint the picture. It’s pretty much a sliding scale in West Palm Beach. Those with better credit pay less for car insurance. The most dramatic savings come from moving from poor credit to excellent credit, which results in over $100 per month back in the bank. But even a move from poor credit to average credit nets over $50 per month.

Credit TieAvg. Monthly Cost
Excellent$354
Good$376
Average$415
Poor$468

West Palm Beach, FL DMV Information

Like many DMVs across the country, West Palm Beach locations offer driver’s license services and registration services at different facilities—though some offer both. Several locations are spread across Palm Beach County. West Palm Beach’s closest DMV locations are 301 N. Olive Avenue (for driver services) and 200 Civic Center Way in Royal Palm Beach (the motor vehicle division). In-house services are by appointment only, and there are some things you can easily manage online. With the state’s MyFlorida app, you can renew your vehicle or watercraft registration online in minutes.

Public Transportation in West Palm Beach, FL

Accessing transportation options in West Palm Beach is easy, from standard bus operations to a free downtown trolley. Palm Tran is Palm Beach County's public bus transportation and a dependable bet for getting around. Another option for commuters who need to go farther and faster? Try Tri-Rail or Brightline. Tri-Rail is a standard rail system that connects commuter stops from West Palm Beach to Miami, while Brightline takes riders to Miami, Fort Lauderdale, and West Palm Beach at speeds of up to 79 mph. Prefer to be picked up by car? Uber and Lyft are offered here 24/7.

Conclusion: How to get the best and cheapest car insurance in West Palm Beach, FL

Between the sunshine-seeking tourists and millions of commuters, Florida freeways are some of the world’s worst for accidents. Getting to work on time here takes talent, but getting a good rate on car insurance shouldn’t take more than an internet connection and a few minutes.

Even though this glamorous beach town is one of the richest in the country, not everyone here can afford to let their spending go unchecked. Having an accident can cost thousands of dollars in car repairs alone, not to mention a mountain of medical bills. You may not be rich enough to buy everything you want, but with Insurify you can easily make sure you get everything you need at a price you can afford.

Insurify Rankings

Using a proprietary dataset of over 1.6 million car insurance shopper applications, the data scientists at Insurify have run various studies on driver behavior across geographical locations, age ranges, motor vehicle registration, and other variables all related to auto insurance coverage.

We’ve been able to determine the speediest cities in the nation, the most popular cars among age groups, and the occupations with the worst drivers, among other insightful reports. We’ve also launched annual awards campaigns to congratulate the communities across the country who have excelled in environmentally friendly initiatives, educational attainment, and other areas.

Here's how West Palm Beach stacks up for the state of Florida:

toyota
Toyota Camry
Most Popular Car in
West Palm Beach, FL
suspended licenses
#28
Cities with Most
Suspended Licenses Rank

FAQs - West Palm Beach, FL Car Insurance

How does personal injury protection (PIP) work in Florida?

Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to making car insurance claims, which means regardless of who did what, your injury claims are always covered by your own insurance company (up to the limits you purchased). Personal injury protection (a.k.a. PIP or no-fault insurance) is the type of coverage Floridians tap into to pay their medical bills in an accident. It pays for a certain portion of your medical bills, lost wages, and a certain amount of death benefits, depending on the type of PIP coverage you buy. You can buy basic, extended, or additional PIP coverage.

Do I have to carry my insurance card with me in Florida?

You should always carry your insurance ID card with you in your car. This tiny piece of paper can be useful to share with the other driver if you get in an accident. It also includes your policy expiration date—a date you should know to prevent coverage from ever lapsing. Most importantly, it serves as proof of insurance if you are ever pulled over. If you don’t have the paper card on you, you can also show a digital ID card from your phone as proof that you do indeed have coverage. If you have neither of these but do have insurance, you could get a ticket and will need to go through the hassle of communicating proof of insurance to the DMV to get the ticket dismissed.

Can insurance companies use my credit score to calculate my insurance rates?

Although some states like California do not allow the use of credit scores when calculating insurance rates, many states still do, including Florida. Other things Florida insurance companies use to determine your risk and rate include your age, your job, the amount of education you have, your gender, your marital status, your ZIP code, your driving record, and how much coverage you want.