Arizona Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Arizona . Drivers must have a minimum of liability insurance.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability insurance policy is required:
- $15,000 for bodily injury/death to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury/death per accident.
- $10,000 for damage to property.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability coverage is the only requirement for Arizona motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Medical and funeral services coverage – Assists with medical payments, or funeral expenses due to an accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- Medical payments coverage - Assists with medical payments due to an accident.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
Full glass coverage – Pays for repairs or replacements of the windshield or other glass.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- $40,000 certificate of deposit of assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer.
Contact the Arizona State Treasurer for more information: (602) 542-7800
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of financial responsibility with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- Policy binder.
- Copy of policy declaration page.
- Certificate of financial responsibility from the Arizona Office of Treasurer.
Getting Pulled Over:
- If you’re pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
You are required to have proof of car insurance in the state of Arizona , if you are pulled over and cannot provide proof of insurance, or other forms of financial responsibility, you may face the following penalties:
- Suspension of license/registration.
An SR22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Arizona drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the Arizona Department of Insurance.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Driving record
- Make/model/year of your vehicle
- Usual location
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Arizona:
- Anti-theft device
- Good student discount
- Multi-car discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Safety features
- Homeowner’s discount
There is no statewide ban of phone use for standard drivers.
Arizona Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Arizona
- Foremost Insurance
- Freedom National
- GMAC (National General)
- The General
- United Auto
Full Insurance Laws for Arizona