Pennsylvania Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Pennsylvania . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and personal injury protection.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, and personal injury protection is required:
- $5,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $5,000 for property damage per accident.
- *A single limit of $35,000 covers the entire liability requirement, only offered by some carriers .
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- $5,000 for medical benefits coverage.
Right to sue:
- Unlimited Right to Sue:
- You have the unlimited right to sue a person who caused an accident that injured you. Included are unrestricted right to sue for medical costs, as well as pain and suffering. This option comes with higher premiums.
- Limited Right to Sue:
- You may only sue a person who caused an accident that injured you for your medical costs. This option comes with lower premiums, however, it limits your right to sue for pain and suffering unless the injury is very severe.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, and personal injury protection are the only requirements for Pennsylvania motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an underinsured party.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Pennsylvania requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- The declaration page of your policy.
- Current liability insurance binder or policy.
- Signed letter from an insurance agent or company official on company letter head.
- Copy of your Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan application.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- Should you be found operating a vehicle without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage, you face:
- $300 minimum fine.
- 3 month suspension of driver’s license and vehicle registration.
- Impoundment of vehicle.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Pennsylvania drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit history
- Driving history
- Year, Make, Model of vehicle
Insurance carriers are NOT allowed to use the following when determining your premiums:
- Marital status
- Family size
- Neighborhood, city of residence
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Pennsylvania:
- Good driver discount.
- Good student discount.
- Paid-in-full discount.
- Safety features discount.
- Multi-policy discount.
- Multi-vehicle discount.
There is no ban on cell phone use while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $50 fine.
Pennsylvania Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Pennsylvania
- Foremost Insurance
- The General
Full Insurance Laws for Pennsylvania