4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Updated December 21, 2022
If you have a DUI on your record, that means you were caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Most DUIs are misdemeanors, but they still come with serious consequences. You could lose your license, pay up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees, and even serve jail time.
A DUI will almost always cause your insurance rates to go up. The national average for a driver with a clean record is $267 per month, but this increases to $531 per month after a DUI. But you can still find ways to save on car insurance after a DUI, like comparing quotes from multiple providers.
What is DUI insurance?
There’s no specific type of DUI insurance — drivers just have to pay more for insurance after receiving a DUI. But certain states do require anyone with a DUI to file an SR-22 certificate.
An SR-22 certificate is a form you’ll need to obtain from your insurance company after a DUI that proves you have liability insurance. It’s often called a certificate of financial responsibility, and the exact requirements vary depending on which state you live in.
For example, Illinois state law requires that drivers keep an SR-22 on file with the secretary of state for three years. If you cancel your insurance during that time, your license is automatically suspended. Missouri requires drivers to maintain an SR-22 with the Driver License Bureau for two years.
Best cheap DUI insurance companies
On average, drivers with a DUI pay more for car insurance, but it’s possible to find cheap rates. The following table highlights insurers that offer affordable rates for drivers with a DUI.
Check Out: Cheap Car Insurance for 2022
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Cheapest DUI insurance by state
The amount you pay following a DUI will largely be determined by the state you live in. For example, states like Idaho are still relatively affordable, with an average monthly quote of $142. But getting a DUI in New York could cost you upwards of $477 a month.
The following table breaks down what you can expect to pay with a DUI in each state. Remember that you always have the option to shop around and look into different insurers. Even New York drivers can save money by comparing quotes to find a more affordable insurer.
|State||Average Monthly Quote|
How DUIs affect insurance premiums
Any time you’re caught engaging in high-risk driving behavior, such as driving under the influence, it’s likely going to cause your insurance premiums to increase. While accidents and speeding tickets can also cause rate increases, DUIs typically have the most severe impact on what you’ll pay.
The average monthly cost for drivers with a speeding ticket is $396 per month, while drivers with an accident pay $408 per month. But drivers who have a DUI could see their insurance rates go to an average of $531 per month.
That’s because driving under the influence makes you a risk to your insurance company. Alcohol reduces brain function and impairs your judgment, reasoning, and muscle coordination, reducing your ability to safely operate a vehicle.
And drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher who are involved in fatal car accidents are four times more likely to have previous DUI convictions. For that reason, your insurer could decide to not even renew your policy once it expires.
How to find affordable insurance after a DUI
You should expect your insurance premiums to increase after a DUI, but it’s still possible to find affordable car insurance. Below are seven steps you can take to find cheap rates after a DUI.
1. Research insurance companies
Before you begin shopping for car insurance quotes, it’s important to research which companies offer the most affordable rates for drivers with a DUI. For instance, our research shows that Farmers, Clearcover, and State Farm are the most affordable insurers on average for drivers after a DUI.
2. Compare quotes
It’s always a good idea to compare quotes from multiple insurance companies to ensure you find the best deal. Each insurance provider has its own method of determining how much your premiums will cost. Most base your rate on your coverage, deductible, age, credit score, and driving history. Find quotes for drivers with a DUI from at least three different providers.
3. Take advantage of discounts
Your insurance premiums will go up with a DUI, but you can still take advantage of discounts. For example, State Farm offers a discount on car insurance if you bundle it with other insurance policies. And Progressive offers discounts for signing up online, enrolling in paperless billing, and paying for your policy up front.
4. Get rid of unnecessary coverage
The amount of coverage you purchase affects how much you pay for insurance, so one of the easiest ways to cut costs is to get rid of any unnecessary coverage. If you don’t drive often, for example, removing collision and comprehensive coverage could help you save money. But it can leave you at greater financial risk if you need to file a claim.
5. Improve your credit score
California, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oregon, Utah, and Washington restrict insurance companies from using your credit score to determine your insurance premiums. If you don’t live in one of these states, your credit score can be factored into what is known as a credit-based insurance score, which insurers consider when determining premiums.
Taking steps to improve your credit score could help you lower your insurance premiums. Make sure you pay your bills on time and pay down any high-interest credit card debt.
6. Practice safe driving
The best way to lower your insurance premiums over the long run is by practicing safe driving and avoiding additional infractions. A second DUI conviction could end up costing you your license. And additional infractions, like a speeding ticket or an accident, can cause your insurance rates to go up even more.
7. Continue to shop around
Your DUI could stay on your record for a long time, so it may continue to affect your insurance premiums for years to come. The insurance company offering you the best rates today may not be the best option a year from now. It’s a good idea to continue to compare quotes whenever you renew your policy.
Read More: DWI vs. DUI: Is There a Difference? (2022)
DUI car insurance FAQs
Here are answers to some commonly asked questions about DUI car insurance.
You can expect your car insurance rates to go up after getting a DUI since insurance companies will consider you a high-risk driver. Some insurance companies may even deny you coverage.
Depending on the state you live in, you may be required to file an SR-22 certificate, which proves that you have the minimum liability coverage required by your state.
You can expect a DUI to stay on your record for at least three years in most states, but it varies based on where you live. Many states require that a DUI stay on your driving record for at least 10 years. In states like Arizona and Alaska, a DUI stays on your record permanently.
An SR-22 isn’t insurance — it’s a form you file with the state to prove that you have the minimum required liability coverage. It’s often referred to as a certificate of responsibility.
If you need an SR-22 form, the first step is to call your insurance company and see if it offers them. If so, it will add the form to your existing policy and file the document with the state.
However, be aware that each state has its own unique regulations and requirements, so it’s a good idea to contact the DMV to make sure you’ve done everything required of you.
DUI stands for “driving under the influence,” and DWI stands for “driving while impaired.” A DUI usually means the driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol, while a DWI means the driver was driving while impaired or intoxicated.
The two are similar, and you can be charged with one when a law enforcement officer can prove you’re too impaired to safely operate a vehicle. This typically means you have a BAC of .08% or higher.
DUI is the most common legal term and is used by more than half the states as well as by the District of Columbia, while only 10 states use DWI. But other states use different legal terms for charging people who drive while intoxicated. For example, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin use OWI, which means “operating while intoxicated.”
How long a DUI stays on your criminal record depends on a variety of factors, like where you live and how many previous convictions you’ve had. But the penalties are usually severe, and a DUI can stay on your criminal record for a long time.
In California, Louisiana, Ohio, and Tennessee, a DUI stays on your record for 10 years. In Michigan, Nevada, and Washington, it’ll stay on your record for seven years. But if you live in Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, or Vermont, a DUI will stay on your criminal record forever.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.
- NOLO. "DUI and DWI Overview." Accessed December 9, 2022
- Missouri Department of Revenue. "Mandatory Insurance FAQs." Accessed December 9, 2022
- NHTSA. "Drunk Driving ." Accessed December 9, 2022
- Experian . "How to Get Car Insurance After a DUI." Accessed December 9, 2022
- Driving Laws (NOLO). "How Long Does a DUI/DWI Stay on Your Record?." Accessed December 9, 2022