New York Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in New York . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, personal injury protection - no fault, and uninsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage is required:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $50,000 for death to one person.
- $100,000 for death to multiple people.
- $10,000 for property damage.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- %80 of lost income due to injuries
- $2,000 per month up to 3 years
- $25 a day for expenses such as household help up to 1 year
- $2,000 death benefit
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- 250,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $500,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage are the only requirements for New York motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Medical Payments – Helps cover your medical or funeral costs due to an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- $25,000 cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times. New York uses an electronic data base to monitor the car insurance status or all vehicles registered in the state.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- Certification of financial responsibility.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- Should you be found operating a vehicle without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage, you face:
- $150 - $1,500 fine
- $750 civil penalty
- Up to 15 days in jail
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All New York drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. . Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the New York Automobile Insurance Plan (NYAIP).
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit history
- Driving history
- Year, make, model of car
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in New York:
- Daytime running lamps discount
- Anti-lock breaking discount
- Safety-device discount
All drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Cell phone violations face a $100 maximum fine, and a mandatory $85 surcharge. Text message violations face a $150 maximum fine, and a mandatory $85 surcharge.
New York Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in New York
Full Insurance Laws for New York