Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Tampa, FL (2021)

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for you in The Sunshine State.

Enter your zipcode to get started

Shopper Approved

4.8 Rating

2,700 Reviews

12 Million

Quotes

Been Here Before?

Get Back to My Quotes

Some advice about battling Tampa traffic: don’t get stuck in rush hour traffic, and avoid Hillsborough Ave and popular I-275 exits. Another thing you should avoid while driving Tampa city streets is finding yourself without the right car insurance.

If only it was that easy to know what car insurance to buy. Tampanian’s know they have to have it, but sifting through so many options can be such a headache. And who has time for all that anyways? Finding the best insurance option quickly is this beachtown’s go-to solution for getting back on the road safely.

Car Insurance in Tampa, FL

The average cost of Florida car insurance will vary from city to city and between insurance companies. Insurify analyzed the latest insurance rates in Tampa, FL to find you the cheapest quotes in the area.

Loading Chart

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tampa, FL

Here are the cheapest carriers in Tampa for the following user profile: a single, 30 year old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance.

Best Car Insurance in Tampa, FL

The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, mobile app reviews, and user-generated carrier reviews. The following are the top rated carriers that offer car insurance in Tampa. For the complete list, see Insurify's best car insurance companies.

Average Car Insurance Cost

Loading Chart

Click here to learn about car insurance quotes and save on your current policy.

Tampa, FL Driving Facts

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in FL

All motor vehicles operated or parked on Florida roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:

  • Requested by law enforcement
  • Renewing vehicle registration
  • The vehicle is involved in a car accident

The Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles are as follows:

  • $10,000 no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance

Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Florida state is $10,000.  In the case of an accident, liability coverage can aid perpetrators with costs involved in a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Florida law.

  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance

The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverag  required in the state of Florida is $10,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident, up to the declared coverage limit.

florida

Tampa Car Insurance Rates by Driver Age

While the Tampa sun may be great for younger people to enjoy, the same can’t be said for their car insurance rates. Young drivers tend to pay around $862 for insurance and as they reach their 20s and 30s, this rate falls to just about half of that. Rates usually level out for Tampa motorists once they hit 40, with small declines in price as they get older. Most residents here in their 80s don’t drive much, leading to premiums of $352 for this age range.

Driver's AgeAvg. Monthly Cost
teens$862
20s$472
30s$392
40s$410
50s$392
60s$341
70s$367
80s$353
Driving HistoryAvg. Monthly Cost
No Violation$399
Speeding Ticket$444
At-Fault Accident$485
Failure to Stop for Red Light / Stop Sign$391

Tampa Car Insurance Rates by Driving and Accident History

The idea of getting into a car accident in Tampa is scary on a lot of levels, but one thing drivers here are often worried about is the effect it will have on their car insurance premiums. Compared to the $398 rate of those with a clean driving history, Tampa drivers who cause an accident will see an increase of less than $100. Failing to stop at a stop sign and speeding will change premium prices to $390 and $443, respectively.

Tampa Car Insurance Rates by Credit Tier

It’s smart to pay attention to your credit score, as you can often save a lot of money with great credit; however, in Tampa, that’s not necessarily a huge factor in car insurance rates. Drivers with poor credit pay $438, while boosting your score to the average level only saves about $15. Motorists can reduce their rate by another $15 when they move into the good tier, and finally, those with excellent credit can expect to pay around $370 a month.

Credit TieAvg. Monthly Cost
Excellent$371
Good$409
Average$424
Poor$439

Tampa, FL DMV Information

Like many DMVs across the country, Tampa’s locations offer driver’s license services and registration services at different facilities—though some places offer both. Locations are spread across Tampa and nearby locations—with five service centers in Tampa and others about a half hour away in Brandon, Plant City, and Ruskin. In-house services are going to mean some standing in line. If you don’t want that, there are plenty of things you can accomplish by using your computer or cell phone. With the state’s MyFlorida app, you can renew your vehicle or watercraft registration while you are walking around—in minutes. Equally as fast is taking care of your DMV transactions through their online web portal GoRenew.com.

Public Transportation in Tampa, FL

There’s so much to see and do in Tampa, you won’t want to be caught without a ride to your next destination. You can get around by bus, rail, and even streetcar in this amazing town. Whether you are going downtown or headed directly to the waterfront, you can pick up the Hart bus downtown, explore Tampa’s urban center on the TECO line streetcar, or head to Tampa Union Station to catch Amtrak. Union Station is also a point of historic interest and an event center. Bikers and scooter enthusiasts aren’t without options here either. Although scooter vendors are shrinking, plenty of businesses have wheels at the ready, including Coast Bikes, Jump, and Spin.

Conclusion: How to get the best and cheapest car insurance in Tampa, FL

It’s a busy place, Tampa. But worth it for all the fun in the sun, nightlife, and good times it offers. What’s not a good time in Florida? Being pulled over without your seat belt on or, worse yet, without insurance coverage.

Would you rather be sifting through the sand than pouring over insurance company details one vendor at a time? Insurify takes the drudgery out of insurance shopping by getting you to the 10 best insurance quotes right away instead of keeping you on the phone with insurance agent after insurance agent.

Find local Tampa agents

Lovinger Financial Services Inc
4016 HENDERSON BLVD, Tampa, FL 33629
Cornerstone Insurance, Inc.
13035 W Linebaugh Ave, Tampa, FL 33626
Omega Insurance Agency
5300 W Cypress St Ste 100, Tampa, FL 33607
Commercial Insurance Specialists, LLC
3438 Colwell Ave, Tampa, FL 33614
Seibert Insurance Agency, Inc.
5121 Ehrlich Rd Ste 111B, Tampa, FL 33624
YourEadvisor.com, LLC
550 N Reo St, Suite 200, Tampa, FL 33609
Spencer Financial, Inc
3901 North Blvd, Tampa, FL 33603
Italiano Insurance Services
3021 Swann Ave, Tampa, FL 33609
Varney Agency Tampa
5005 W Laurel Street Ste 202, Tampa, FL 33607
Blankit Insurance Group Inc.
1211 Tech Blvd. Suite 124, Tampa, FL 33619

Insurify Rankings

Using a proprietary dataset of over 1.6 million car insurance shopper applications, the data scientists at Insurify have run various studies on driver behavior across geographical locations, age ranges, motor vehicle registration, and other variables all related to auto insurance coverage.

We’ve been able to determine the speediest cities in the nation, the most popular cars among age groups, and the occupations with the worst drivers, among other insightful reports. We’ve also launched annual awards campaigns to congratulate the communities across the country who have excelled in environmentally friendly initiatives, educational attainment, and other areas.

Here's how Tampa stacks up for the state of Florida:

toyota
Toyota Corolla
Most Popular Car in
Tampa, FL
suspended licenses
#38
Cities with Most
Suspended Licenses Rank

FAQs - Tampa, FL Car Insurance

What is PIP?

Auto insurance laws are determined by each state. Personal injury protection, or PIP, is a type of insurance required by the state of Florida. Other states requiring this kind of protection include Delaware, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Utah. Because Florida is a no-fault state (which means regardless of who is at fault for the accident, your injury claims are paid by your own insurance company), PIP insurance provides a minimum amount of insurance that the state has decided is adequate (on average) to pay someone’s medical bills. Property damages are not paid by PIP and are the responsibility of the person who is found to be at fault. The minimum PIP required by the state of Florida is $10,000. But act quickly with your PIP if you have an accident. Florida law states that you have 14 days from the date of the accident to use your PIP benefits or you forfeit your right to them, no exceptions.

I’m bringing my younger children to Florida. What are the seat belt requirements?

Buckle up, no matter what your age in Florida, or you could receive a fine of up to $60 and a moving violation. The law requires that all drivers, all front-seat passengers, and all passengers under the age of 18 fasten their safety belts. As for younger children, Florida also has rules about the ages for which they must use additional safety restraints, like car seats. Although some states require kids to be in a car seat according to height or weight, in Florida, it’s by age. Those ages four to five must either be retrained by a child carrier, an integrated child seat (built into the car by the manufacturer), or a booster seat. Children ages three and younger must be in a separate carrier or an integrated child seat. All of these seating devices must be crash-tested and federally approved.

How do I get my registration sticker in Florida if I renew using an online option?

In Florida, you have two online options for renewing your registration: you can renew online at GoRenew.com or via the DMV’s mobile app MyFlorida for the FLHSMV. If you renew using GoRenew.com, you will receive your registration in the mail within 7–10 days. When registering, you can choose to receive an online receipt that you can print out and use in the meantime for proof of registration. For those using the app, you’ll receive a digital document that stands as proof of registration until you receive yours in the mail.