4.8out of 3,000+ reviews

Florida Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (Updated September 2022)

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Advertising disclosures
auto insurance

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.
Jennifer Pendell

By: Jennifer Pendell

Edited by Jackie Cohen

Updated June 17, 2022

Florida law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Florida must hold 10/10 in liability coverage and personal injury protection. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts

  • Car insurance is required by law in Florida.
  • Drivers in Florida must carry 10/10 in liability and PIP.
  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $500 in fines and having their license suspended.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Florida

The minimum car insurance requirements in Florida[1] are:

  • $10,000 for property damage liability per accident
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection per accident

Unlike other states, Florida does not require any bodily injury liability insurance unless you’re operating a taxi, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Also, Florida is a no-fault state, which means that each person in an accident will use their own insurance to pay for damages regardless of who caused the accident.

Why is car insurance required in Florida?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is not required in Florida except for taxi drivers.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Florida.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Personal injury protection is required in Florida.

See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Florida

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Florida?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Florida provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. For example, the minimum acceptable Florida auto insurance policy has no coverage for bodily injury liability.

Also, the minimum insurance requirements only protect you with up to $10,000 in PIP insurance. PIP covers 80 percent of medical expenses from a covered injury up to $10,000, but in a serious auto accident, that $10,000 could be spent quickly. A larger amount of coverage would include more coverage for medical payments.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Florida

Florida drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Florida, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

Many Florida drivers choose to add towing coverage to their policies. This type of coverage pays to tow the policyholder’s car to a repair facility after a covered accident. You may also hear it referred to as roadside assistance.

Medical payment insurance covers medical expenses from accidental injuries and goes beyond what’s covered by PIP. It covers medical expenses for you, your family members, and your passengers regardless of who is at fault for the accident.

See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Florida

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Florida

It is illegal to drive in Florida without the minimum car insurance coverage. If you don’t carry the minimum amount of insurance, the potential ramifications include:

  • Suspension of your driver’s license or registration
  • Reinstatement fees of up to $500

See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Florida

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Florida

High-risk drivers face several hurdles to get back on the road after committing a serious driving offense, such as a DUI. For example, people who have been convicted of DUIs must buy bodily injury liability coverage for at least three years after their license is reinstated, including $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, plus $50,000 for property damage.

Florida is also one of two states using the FR-44 form, which is like an SR-22 with stricter requirements. This form, which is filed by your insurance company, serves as proof of financial responsibility and verifies that you have proof of insurance.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Florida

DUI Insurance in Florida

SR-22 Insurance in Florida

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Florida

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Florida.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Progressive$154
Travelers$193
Dairyland$235
Bristol West$172
Liberty Mutual$243
Disclaimer: actual quotes may vary based on the policyholder's unique driver profile.

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Florida

The best (and easiest) way to find a cheap insurance policy in Florida is to compare car insurance quotes online. Comparing insurance policies helps you find the best deal.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Yes. Drivers in the state of Florida must carry 10/10—that’s $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) and $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP coverage).

  • Yes. Florida is a no-fault state, so if you’re in an accident, you will use your own insurance even if you didn’t cause the accident.

  • No. However, uninsured motorist protection can be a real lifesaver if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run incident.

  • Yes. You have to show proof of insurance to be able to register the car.

  • You can find an affordable car insurance policy in Florida by comparing quotes from different insurance providers online. Comparing car insurance quotes means you can see what each insurance company is charging and find the best deal on a good policy.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required
  • Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.

Jennifer Pendell
Jennifer Pendell

Insurance Writer

Jennifer Pendell is a personal finance expert. She specializes in breaking down dense subjects to make them easier for consumers to understand, with a particular interest in homeowners, renters, and auto insurance concepts. She studied at the University of Iowa.

Learn More

Sources

  1. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 15, 2022