Insurify’s expert insurance writers and editors operate independently of our insurance partners. As an independent agent and insurance comparison website, we make money through commissions from insurers. But that does not influence any editorial content, including reviews. Learn more.
At Insurify, our goal is to help customers compare insurance products and find the best policy for them. We strive to provide open, honest, and unbiased information about the insurance products and services we review. Our hard-working team of data analysts, insurance experts, insurance agents, editors and writers, has put in thousands of hours of research to create the content found on our site.
We do receive compensation when a sale or referral occurs from many of the insurance providers and marketing partners on our site. That may impact which products we display and where they appear on our site. But it does not influence our meticulously researched editorial content, what we write about, or any reviews or recommendations we may make. We do not guarantee favorable reviews or any coverage at all in exchange for compensation.
If you’ve committed a severe traffic violation, Florida law or your local court system may require you to file an FR-44 or SR-22 form to reinstate your license. Though not technically insurance policies, SR-22 and FR-44 certificates prove to the state that you’ve purchased the minimum required liability coverage.
Florida requires high-risk drivers to provide proof of insurance. This is your documentation showing your insurance company will pay for the other party’s medical expenses and vehicle damages if you cause an accident.
Florida and Virginia are the only states that require FR-44 insurance.
Used for more serious traffic violations like drunk driving, FR-44s require more insurance than the state minimum liability coverage.
If required to have one, you must carry an SR-22 or FR-44 for three consecutive years in Florida.
What is SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida, and when do you need it?
Florida requires drivers to file an SR-22 form for all non-DUI violations, including but not limited to:
Various traffic violations within the last six months, such as multiple speeding tickets
Driving while uninsured
Driving with a suspended license
"SR-22 and FR-44 forms are certificates of financial responsibility that the state of Florida requires high-risk drivers to file with the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) department," says Mark Friedlander, director of corporate communications at the Insurance Information Institute (III).
You may have to file an FR-44 form if you commit a serious traffic violation, like driving under the influence or driving after you forfeited your license following a conviction. SR-22 drivers only need to purchase the state’s minimum liability coverage, but an FR-44 requires drivers to buy more than the state’s minimum liability coverage.
SR-22 drivers in Florida need $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident for bodily injury, $10,000 in property damage, and $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP).
FR-44 drivers in Florida need $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injury, $50,000 in property damage, and and $10,000 in PIP.
Find SR-22 Car Insurance in Florida
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
How can you get SR-22 insurance in Florida?
If you need to file an SR-22 or FR-44 insurance form in Florida, you must first purchase coverage from a company licensed in the state. Then, notify your insurance agent that they must file your form with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Not all insurance companies offer coverage for high-risk drivers, so check that your car insurance company does. If it doesn’t, you must switch insurers.
How long are SR-22 and FR-44 insurance required in Florida?
FR-44 and SR-44 filing requirements vary by state, but drivers in Florida must typically carry FR-44 and SR-22 insurance consecutively for three years.
Your insurance company must inform Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles if you cancel your policy or if your coverage lapses before your filing requirement ends. You may then face re-suspension that requires another three years of filing.
How much is SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida?
If you have an SR-22 or FR-44 mandate in Florida, you can expect to spend $15 to $25 to file your certificate. You may also have to pay up to $75 to reinstate your driver’s license, up to $225 to reinstate your vehicle registration, and other fees.
Drivers with an SR-22 or FR-44 requirement also tend to pay more for insurance than drivers with clean records. The cost of your high-risk insurance varies depending on the city you live in, insurance company, claim history, age, and other factors.
Cheapest companies for SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida
If you have major traffic violations and frequent accidents on your record, you might struggle to find affordable FR-44 or SR-22 insurance. However, you can find a company with rates that work with your budget by shopping around and considering several insurers.
The following table shows average monthly quotes from some of the cheapest insurance companies in Florida for SR-22 coverage.
The below rates are estimated rates current as of: Sunday, October 1 at 12:00 PM PDT.
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time quotes from Insurify's 50-plus partner insurance providers and quote estimates from Quadrant Information Services. Actual quotes may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.
Cheapest insurance companies in Florida with SR-22 and FR-44 by city
When determining your costs, car insurance companies examine the frequency of theft, accidents, and vandalism in your area, as well as traffic congestion and population density. So, your location can play a significant factor in your premium calculation. Find the average monthly costs for coverage in some of Florida’s most populated cities below.
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time quotes from Insurify's 50-plus partner insurance providers. Actual quotes may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.
Find SR-22 Car Insurance in Florida
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
How SR-22 insurance affects driving record and future rates in Florida
Needing to file an FR-44 or SR-22 form can cause insurance companies to view you as a risky driver. Therefore, people with FR-44 or SR-22 requirements may pay significantly higher rates than drivers without. Some insurers may even refuse you coverage.
You can try to offset the effect of either form on your rates by taking the following actions:
Compare insurance rates
Some insurance companies have friendly underwriting standards for high-risk drivers. Shop around annually to find the best car insurance rates with a company that will insure SR-22 or FR-44 drivers.
Maintain a clean driving record
Frequent instances of reckless driving cause your premiums to increase and may even result in an insurer terminating your coverage. You can counteract high marks on your driving record by practicing safe driving.
Increase your credit score
Insurance companies use your credit score to determine your likelihood of filing a claim. Keeping your credit score high indicates financial responsibility.
You may qualify for discounts unrelated to your driving record, including loyalty, multi-policy, multi-vehicle, membership, safety feature, and up-front payment discounts.
Complete a defensive driving course
While a high-risk driving violation can stay on your record for three years or more, a defensive driving course can help lessen the effect of your poor record and lower your rates.
Florida SR-22 and FR-44 insurance FAQs
Depending on your recent driving history, you may need to file an SR-22 or FR-44 form with the state to prove you have the minimum required insurance. Here’s some additional information about both insurance forms.
How long do you have to hold an SR-22 in Florida?
You have to maintain SR-22 or FR-44 insurance in Florida for three years. A DUI will remain on your record for 75 years, which can affect the cost of your car insurance and the availability of companies willing to insure you.
How do you get rid of an SR-22 in Florida?
You must wait three years before removing an SR-22 or FR-44 from your record. You can prevent needing to file either form for longer by avoiding another traffic violation or a lapse in your coverage.
What happens to your SR-22 in Florida if you move?
You must submit an FR-44 or SR-22 form in your new state. Remember, if you discontinue your coverage with an SR-22 filed, your insurance company must report the cancellation to your state. Because your license is at risk of further suspension, you may have to restart the process when you decide to reinstate your license.
Alani Asis is an SEO-savvy, personal finance freelance writer with nearly three years of experience in content creation. She has landed bylines with leading publications and brands like Insider, Fortune, LendingTree, and more. Alani aims to make personal finance approachable through fun, relatable, and digestible content.