Don't mess with Texas, seriously. As the second largest state in the U.S., Texas has a go big or go home attitude when it comes to their BBQ, football, and pride.
The Cheapest Cities for Car Insurance in Texas
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Texas . Drivers must have a minimum of liability coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability coverage is required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability coverage is the only requirements for Texas motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times. You don’t need proof of insurance to register your car or obtain a driver’s license. Texas uses TexasSure, an interagency electronic verification system that electronically verifies proof of financial responsibility.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
A SR-22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR-22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Texas drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers denied by 2 or more private providers can purchase insurance through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan (TAIP)
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Texas:
There is no ban on cellphone use while driving, except drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses are prohibited from cellphone use. Texting is only banned when driving with passengers under the age of 17. Violators face up to a $200 - $500 fine