Back to all states

Indiana Car Insurance Information

Requirement : Yes

Financial responsibility is required in Indiana . Drivers must have a minimum of liability coverage, all liability insurance policies must also include uninsured/underinsured motorist liability coverage.


Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:

A minimum liability insurance policy is required:

    • $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
    • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
    • $10,000 for property damage liability per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
    • $50,000 per accident
  • * You may opt out of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, however, you must do so in writing.

Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:

Liability and coverage is the only requirement for Indiana motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:

  • Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
  • Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
  • Medical Payments – Helps cover your medical or funeral costs due to an accident.
  • Custom – Covers the insured for customized vehicle equipment damaged due to an accident.
  • Rental Reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
  • Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
  • Custom – Covers the insured for customized vehicle equipment damaged due to an accident.
  • GAP Coverage - If your vehicle is loaned or leased and totaled, Gap insurance may pay for the difference between the cash value of the vehicle and the unpaid balance of the loan or lease.

  • Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.

Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:

Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:  

    • $40,000 cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller.

 

Proof of Insurance: No

Your insurance company must file a Certificate of Compliance with Indiana’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles should:

  • The Bureau of Motor Vehicles receives an accident report in which you were involved in.
  • You’ve been issued a traffic ticket within 1 year of previously receiving 2 or more moving violations.
  • You’ve be found committing a serious traffic violation.
  • You’ve committed a traffic violation when your license was previously suspended for not providing proof of insurance.
  • Certification of financial responsibility.

Insurance Violations:

Violations, Fines & Penalties:

  • 90 day to 1 year license suspension for 1 st offense.
    • $150 reinstatement fee.
    • SR-22 mandate for 3 years.
  • 1 year license suspension for 2 nd offense within 5 years.
    • $225 reinstatement fee.
    • 1 year maximum suspension of vehicle registration.
    • SR-22 mandate for 3 years.
  • 1 year license suspension for 3rd offense.
    • $300 reinstatement fee.
    • 1 year maximum suspension of vehicle registration.
    • SR-22 mandate for 3 years.

SR22:

A SR22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.

Reasons you may be required to carry an SR-22:

  • Operating a vehicle without minimum insurance requirements.
  • An SR-22 must be maintained for 3 years from the end date of suspension.

Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :

All Indiana drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.

  

Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Claim history
  • Credit Score
  • Driving history
  • Make, model of car
  • Neighborhood or city of residence
  • Deductible
  • Driver training courses
  • Frequency of vehicle use
  • Purpose of vehicle use

Discounts : Yes

Discounts available in Indiana:

  • Driving history
  • Good student discount
  • Homeowner discount
  • Multi-vehicle discount
  • Paid-in-full discount
  • Safety device discount

Cellphone Use:

Drivers under the age of 21 are banned from all cellphone usage. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $85 fine.


Indiana Minimum Coverage Laws

Carriers in Indiana

Full Insurance Laws for Indiana

None