Georgia Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Georgia . Drivers must have a minimum of liability insurance. *Georgia is a no-fault insurance state, your provider will pay your medical costs up to the policy limits, regardless of who caused the accident.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability coverage is required:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage liability per accident.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability coverage is the only requirement for Georgia motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Medical payments and funeral coverage - Assists with medical payments, or death due to an accident.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Georgia requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: No
An insurance ID card is not valid proof of insurance. All government agencies, including law enforcement can check with the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) to verify electronically you’re minimally compliant.
It is the insurance provider’s responsibility to report, and update your car insurance status with the GECIS. Report any errors/incorrect information with the GECIS.
Getting Pulled Over:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- You are not required to carry proof of insurance with you in the state of Georgia.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Georgia drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Driving history
- Car insurance claim history
- Make, model of car
- Marital status
- Credit history
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Georgia:
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Multi-vehicle discount
All drivers under the age of 18 are banned from cellphone use. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Cellphone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $150 fine, plus 1 point on their license.
Georgia Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Georgia
- Aggressive Insurance
- Everest National
- Foremost Insurance
- The General
Full Insurance Laws for Georgia