Known as "The Magnolia State," Mississippi is famous for its pecan mud pies, fishing, and of course deep fried catfish.
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Mississippi . Drivers must have a minimum of liability coverage. Mississippi drivers aren’t required to have insurance to register a vehicle, or apply for a driver’s license.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability insurance policy is required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability is the only requirement for Mississippi motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times, you don’t have to have proof of insurance in order to renew your registration. The insurance company (provider) will give you an insurance card as proof of insurance.
The card will include:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
A SR22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
You may be required to file an SR-22 to:
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Mississippi drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers who are unable to find coverage may be eligible to apply for car insurance through the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Mississippi:
There is currently no cell phone ban for drivers. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators currently face a $25 fine, which will increase to a $100 fine on July 1, 2016.