SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi: Cost, Requirements, and Cheapest Companies

Mississippi car insurance with an SR-22 requirement costs an average of $160 per month.

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
4.7 / 518K reviews
Daria Kelly Uhlig
Writer: Daria Kelly UhligHome Insurance Writer, Realtor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed Realtor with 10+ years in personal finance content

  • Contributor to Nasdaq and USA Today


Daria is a licensed Realtor and resort property manager specializing in personal finance, real estate, and insurance topics. In her spare time, she practices photography.

Photo of an Insurify author
Editor: Katie PowersLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed auto and home insurance agent

  • 4+ years experience in insurance and personal finance editing

  • NPN: 20564519


Katie uses her knowledge and expertise as a licensed property and casualty agent in Massachusetts to help readers understand the complexities of insurance shopping.

MacKenzie Korris
Reviewer: MacKenzie KorrisLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Copy Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed property and casualty insurance agent

  • 10+ years editing experience

  • NPN: 21630969


MacKenzie Korris is an insurance copy editor with a producer’s license for property and casualty insurance in Missouri.

Updated

Why you can trust Insurify: Comparing accurate insurance quotes should never put you at risk of spam. We earn an agent commission only if you buy a policy based on our quotes. Our editorial team follows a rigorous set of editorial standards and operates independently from our insurance partners. Learn more.
Quick Facts
  • An SR-22 certificate proves that you have at least the minimum amount of liability insurance required by the state of Mississippi.

  • The average cost of an SR-22 policy is $103 per month for liability-only coverage and $215 per month for full coverage.

  • Following a license suspension for certain serious violations, Mississippi requires SR-22 insurance as a condition for driver’s license reinstatement.

SR-22 requirements in Mississippi

An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that your insurance company files with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS). It proves to the state that you have at least the state’s minimum coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 in property damage liability.[1]

Although Mississippi doesn’t charge an SR-22 filing fee, your insurer may charge around $25. The specific fee amount will vary by insurer.

Make sure you maintain your SR-22 minimum coverage for the entire period mandated by the state. Otherwise, you risk license suspension until you complete the necessary requirements.

SR-22 Insurance
Mississippi Requirement
Minimum liability limit25/50/25
Filing feeAbout $25, depending on your insurer
Who files?Your insurance company
What happens if coverage lapses?Your insurer will notify the DPS, which will resuspend your license until you meet the requirements

Find Cheap Mississippi Car Insurance

Liability policies average $103 /mo. for drivers with an SR-22

Excellent
4.7 out of 5 based on 18,189 reviews
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
ProgressiveLiberty MutualAllstate

How much is SR-22 insurance in Mississippi?

The average Mississippi driver with an SR-22 certificate pays $103 per month for liability-only coverage and $215 for full coverage. That’s higher than premiums for Mississippi drivers with clean records.

Car insurance for drivers with SR-22 forms is more expensive because the traffic violations that trigger SR-22 requirements, like a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction or causing an accident while uninsured, make drivers riskier to insure. The precise amount you pay for coverage will depend on the severity of your violations, your driving history, and other factors.

Here’s how average insurance costs compare in Mississippi for drivers with an SR-22 requirement and drivers with clean records.

Driver Profile
Average Monthly Cost: Liability Only
Average Monthly Cost: Full Coverage
Clean record$89$186
With SR-22$103$215
Disclaimer: Table data is based on real-time Mississippi quotes from Insurify’s network of 500+ insurance partners. Actual rates may vary depending on the policyholder’s individual profile and coverage needs.

Cheapest companies for SR-22 insurance in Mississippi

Mississippi drivers can find the cheapest SR-22 insurance from State Farm, with policies averaging $52 per month for liability-only insurance, according to Insurify data. You should always compare average quotes from multiple insurance companies to find the best rates.

Below, you can compare average insurance costs from the cheapest insurance companies for Mississippi drivers with an SR-22 requirement.

The below rates in Mississippi are estimated rates current as of: Sunday, November 1 at 12:28 AM PDT. 
Insurance Company
Liability Only
Full Coverage
State Farm$56$107
USAA$59$112
Progressive$64$141
Bristol West$81$212
Direct Auto$82$165
National General$84$144
Allstate$84$154
GEICO$102$199
Trexis One$107$263
The General$111$435
First Acceptance$111$285
Mendota$111$255
GAINSCO$112$278
Travelers$112$215
Root$116$177
Safeco$123$176
Shelter$148$284
Liberty Mutual$169$279
Dairyland$181$459
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time Mississippi car insurance quotes from Insurify's 500+ partner insurance providers and quote estimates from Quadrant Information Services. Actual car insurance quotes in Mississippi may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.

When do you need SR-22 insurance in Mississippi?

Mississippi requires high-risk drivers to maintain SR-22 proof of financial responsibility as a condition of license reinstatement. High-risk drivers may need to meet SR-22 requirements following convictions for serious offenses that result in mandatory license suspension.

Mississippi’s legal code specifically lists failure to report an accident, falsifying proof of insurance, driving on a suspended license, and driving under the influence as offenses that automatically result in license suspension. A first-offense DUI has a mandatory 90-day license suspension.[2]

You may also need SR-22 insurance if you had an at-fault accident while driving without insurance that caused damage or injuries, according to the state’s driver’s license manual.

How to get SR-22 insurance in Mississippi

An SR-22 acts as proof of insurance. It’s not a different type of insurance, so you only need to follow the usual procedure to buy a policy. You’ll just need to take additional steps to make sure you’re satisfying your SR-22 requirement in Mississippi.

Here’s what you need to know:

  1. Request rate quotes. Request rates from a few insurance companies. Answer questions accurately when you fill out the request forms, making sure you’re looking at coverage with Mississippi’s minimum coverage or more. If you don’t own a car, you’ll need to get quotes for non-owner SR-22 insurance.

  2. Compare policies. In addition to reviewing the liability limits and rates, compare deductibles, discounts, and the availability of additional coverages. In particular, you should consider purchasing collision and comprehensive coverage to extend coverage to your vehicle.

  3. Ask if the insurer offers SR-22 filings. You can’t file the SR-22 certificate yourself. Your insurance company will need to do it for you. Make sure the company you select is willing, and ask how much it charges before you buy the policy.

  4. Buy the policy. You can usually purchase coverage online, in person, or by phone.

  5. Verify that the insurer has filed the SR-22. You can’t have your license reinstated until the state has your SR-22. Confirm the DPS has received it before you pay reinstatement fees.

Shop for Mississippi Car Insurance

Insurify partners with 120+ auto insurers for real quotes

Excellent
4.7 out of 5 based on 18,189 reviews
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
ProgressiveLiberty MutualAllstate

How long does Mississippi require SR-22 insurance?

Mississippi drivers typically need to maintain SR-22 insurance for three years, regardless of the circumstances of the license suspension. If you let your coverage lapse, the state could suspend your license again until you’ve completed three years of having SR-22 coverage.

This requirement can be difficult to meet if you have trouble finding an insurance company that insures high-risk drivers. If you’re unable to find coverage, the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan (MSAIP) might be able to connect you with an insurer.[3]

Mississippi SR-22 insurance FAQs

If you’ve had your license suspended in Mississippi and need an SR-22 for reinstatement, the following information can help you remain compliant.

How much is SR-22 insurance in Mississippi?

The amount you pay depends on the violation that triggered the SR-22 requirement, your driving history, and other factors. The average cost of Mississippi car insurance for drivers with an SR-22 requirement is $103 per month for liability-only coverage and $215 for full coverage.

Do you need an SR-22 to reinstate your license in Mississippi?

That depends on the reason for the license suspension. Call the Mississippi DPS Driver Service Bureau at 1 (601) 487-7028 to check requirements for your situation.[4]

How long do you need to maintain SR-22 insurance in Mississippi?

Mississippi requires SR-22 coverage for three years unless you surrender your driver’s license to the DPS. Permanent incapacitation that prevents you from driving also excuses you from the SR-22 requirement.

Sources

  1. Mississippi Department of Public Safety. "Mississippi Driver's License Manual."
  2. Mississippi Department of Public Safety. "Frequently Asked Questions Related to Driving Under the Influence Offenses and Driving Privileges."
  3. AIPSO. "Mississippi."
  4. Mississippi Department of Public Safety. "Driver Self-Service."

Methodology

Insurify data scientists analyzed more than 250 million quotes served to car insurance applicants in Insurify’s proprietary database to calculate the premium averages displayed on this page. These premiums are real quotes that come directly from Insurify’s 500+ partner insurance companies in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quote averages represent the median price for a quote across the given coverage level, driver subset, and geographic area.

Unless otherwise specified, quoted rates reflect the average cost for drivers between 20 and 70 years old with a clean driving record and average or better credit (a credit score of 600 or higher).

Liability-only premium averages correspond to policies with the following coverage limits:

  • Bodily injury limits between state-minimum rates and $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
  • Property damage limits between $10,000 and $50,000
  • No additional coverage
Full-coverage premium averages correspond to the same bodily injury and property damage limits in addition to:
  • Comprehensive coverage with a $1,000 deductible
  • Collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible
Daria Kelly Uhlig
Writer: Daria Kelly UhligHome Insurance Writer, Realtor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed Realtor with 10+ years in personal finance content

  • Contributor to Nasdaq and USA Today


Daria is a licensed Realtor and resort property manager specializing in personal finance, real estate, and insurance topics. In her spare time, she practices photography.

Photo of an Insurify author
Editor: Katie PowersLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed auto and home insurance agent

  • 4+ years experience in insurance and personal finance editing

  • NPN: 20564519


Katie uses her knowledge and expertise as a licensed property and casualty agent in Massachusetts to help readers understand the complexities of insurance shopping.

MacKenzie Korris
Reviewer: MacKenzie KorrisLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Copy Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed property and casualty insurance agent

  • 10+ years editing experience

  • NPN: 21630969


MacKenzie Korris is an insurance copy editor with a producer’s license for property and casualty insurance in Missouri.