4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Why you can trust Insurify
Updated June 24, 2022
Mississippi law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Mississippi must hold 25/50/25 in liability coverage. While MedPay and uninsured motorist coverage aren’t required by law, they are encouraged. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.
Car insurance is required by law in Mississippi.
Drivers in Mississippi must carry 25/50/25 in liability insurance, which includes both bodily injury and property damage.
If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $1,000 in fines and a potential suspension of driving privileges.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Mississippi
The minimum car insurance requirements in Mississippi are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 for property damage liability per accident
Mississippi is an at-fault state. This means that if you’re injured or experience property damage as the result of an auto accident, you can get full compensation from the at-fault driver and their insurer. However, if you cause the accident and experience injury or damage, you would not be protected. This is why it might help to have extra medical payments (MedPay) coverage.
Why is car insurance required in Mississippi?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Mississippi.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Mississippi.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi
Is state minimum car insurance enough in Mississippi?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in Mississippi provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. While the minimum amount of liability insurance at 25/50/25 helps keep drivers protected, you might want to consider purchasing extra coverage if you’re at a higher risk of causing an at-fault accident.
Also, the state of Mississippi doesn’t require drivers to carry any other insurance beyond liability coverage. This comes in handy if you cause an accident and need to pay for the injuries and damage sustained by someone else, but what about for you, your family members, or any other passengers in your car? Those minimum requirements won’t cover you, so MedPay could help.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Mississippi
Mississippi drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Mississippi, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.
Other Supplemental Coverage
The great thing about your auto insurance policy is that it’s completely customizable and can be tailored to fit your unique needs. If your driving record indicates that you might be at a higher risk of getting into an accident or causing a collision, there are a few other types of extra coverage that you might want to consider in order to keep yourself and others on the road safe from harm.
For example, you could top up your liability coverage beyond the 25/50/25 minimum limit. You could also opt for rental car reimbursement if you need support while your car is in the shop. Either way, know that having the coverage you need comes with its own financial responsibility, so expect to pay a bit more if you need added coverage for extra peace of mind on the road.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Mississippi
It is illegal to drive in Mississippi without the minimum car insurance coverage. Failing to show proof of insurance could lead to a $1,000 fine or your driving privileges being suspended for one year. However, this amount of time can be shortened if you show proof of insurance before then.
Driving privileges suspended for one year or until you show proof of insurance
Mississippi auto insurance laws changed in 2006, requiring all drivers to keep a copy of their auto insurance policy card in their car at all times. Similar to your driver’s license, you should have proof of insurance with you any time you operate a vehicle. While state law prohibits law enforcement from stopping you just to check your insurance, they can ask for it during any other type of stop.
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Mississippi
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Mississippi
In order for high-risk drivers in Mississippi to get back on the road, they may be asked to provide extra documents to prove that they’re on track to improving their driving record. The Mississippi Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will likely ask for an SR-22, which is a certificate of financial responsibility.
Unfortunately, there are no alternatives to this, and drivers have to file the form through an insurance company and purchase the policy if the state or court requires them to show it.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Mississippi
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Mississippi
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Mississippi.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in Mississippi
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi
Getting the coverage you need—whether it be the minimum amount or extra—shouldn’t break the bank. The best way to get a policy you can afford is by comparing car insurance quotes and shopping around before buying one. Insurify makes this easy by sifting through millions of auto insurance rates from hundreds of companies in the market to get you a great deal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, Mississippi requires 25/50/25 in liability coverage to protect others in the case of bodily injury or property damage. While MedPay and uninsured motorist coverage aren’t required, they are encouraged to make sure you also have protection if you or any other passengers in your car need support.
No, Mississippi is an at-fault state. This means that the driver who caused the accident (and their insurer) is responsible for providing monetary support for bodily injury or property damage from the accident.
No, uninsured motorist protection isn’t required but might be helpful to have. If someone without insurance hits your car, you might get stuck paying for expenses out of pocket. However, this coverage lets you make a claim for injuries or damages through your insurance company.
No, Mississippi is one of a handful of states that don’t enforce presenting car insurance at the time of vehicle registration. However, every motor vehicle that’s operated in the state is required to have proof of insurance in the car at all times.
Getting a cheap policy is possible if you shop around first. Insurify makes it easy to compare car insurance quotes. You can get a side-by-side look at prices before committing to one. That way, you can make sure you have the minimum car insurance requirements as mandated by law, on top of any other add-ons, like roadside assistance or MedPay, that you need to feel safe.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.