Connecticut Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Connecticut . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required:
- $20,000 for bodily injury/death to one person.
- $40,000 for bodily injury/death per accident.
- $10,000 for damage to property.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- Minimum: $20,000 per person
- Minimum: $40,000 per accident
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability coverage is the only requirement for Connecticut motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Connecticut requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of financial responsibility with your vehicle at all times, you must also have proof of insurance in order to renew your registration. The insurance company (provider) will give you an insurance card as proof of insurance.
The card will include:
- Vehicle’s information:
- Safety Rating
- Your policy name & name of any other drivers insured under the policy.
- The policy term’s expiration date.
- A new policy card will be provided every time you renew your car insurance policy.
- * You must carry both your registration certificate and car insurance ID card in your car at all times.
Getting Pulled Over:
- If you’re pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
You are required to have proof of car insurance in the state of Connecticut , if you are pulled over and cannot provide proof of insurance, or other forms of financial responsibility, you may face the following penalties:
- $50 fine
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Connecticut drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit score
- Driving record
- Make/model/year of your vehicle
- Neighborhood or city of residence
- Where your vehicle is parked overnight
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Connecticut:
- Anti-theft device discount
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Vehicle safety discount
All mobile device violations are considered a primary offense. All drivers are banned from handheld cellphone use while driving. All drivers are also prohibited from texting while driving, included, but not limited are: typing, sending, or reading a text message with a hand-held mobile telephone, or electronic device. Offenders can face a $125 fine for the first offense, and a $250 for the second offense, $400 for subsequent cellphone violations. Texting violators face fines of $100, $150, and $200 for the first, second, and third offense. In addition to the aforementioned fines, drivers under the age of 18 face: First offense: 30 day license suspension, and $125 license restoration fee, plus court costs, Second and all subsequent offenses: 6 month suspension, and $125 license restoration fee.
Connecticut Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Connecticut
- Foremost Insurance
- Plymouth Rock Assurance
Full Insurance Laws for Connecticut