4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Why you can trust Insurify
Updated June 17, 2022
Connecticut law dictates the minimum auto insurance requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Connecticut must hold 25/50/25 in bodily injury liability coverage and property damage coverage, as well as uninsured motorist coverage. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.
Car insurance is required by law in Connecticut.
Drivers in Connecticut must carry 25/50/25 in liability, coverage, in addition to uninsured motorist coverage.
If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $100 to 1,000 in fines and potential jail time.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
The minimum car insurance requirements in Connecticut are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 for property damage liability per accident
$25,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist protection per person
$50,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist protection per accident
Connecticut used to be a no-fault state for auto insurance prior to 1994. Since then, Connecticut has been an at-fault state that allows you to sue an at-fault driver if you’re injured because of their negligence.
Why is car insurance required in Connecticut?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Connecticut.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability insurance is required in Connecticut.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage covers you, your relatives (if they live with you), and your passengers if they’re injured in an accident and the other driver is uninsured or underinsured. You can purchase higher limits, but Connecticut state law requires minimum coverage amounts of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
*See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Connecticut
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Is state minimum car insurance enough in Connecticut?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in Connecticut provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. The minimum amounts required for car insurance only protect you up to $50,000 per accident, which is a small amount that won’t cover extensive injuries or medical treatment.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Connecticut
Connecticut drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Connecticut, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Other Supplemental Coverage
Rental car reimbursement, roadside assistance, and full glass coverage are additional coverages you might want to consider in Connecticut. Rental car reimbursement and roadside assistance can help you get back on the road quickly if something happens, while full glass coverage eliminates your deductible for glass repairs or replacement.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Connecticut
It is illegal to drive in Connecticut without the minimum car insurance coverage. You must also have your insurance identification card on hand at all times while driving. If you don’t have it, the law assumes you don’t have the required minimum insurance in place. Penalties are as follows:
$100 to $1,000 in fines
Up to $5,000 and imprisonment of five years for commercial drivers
One-month driving suspension for the first conviction
Six months driving suspension for convictions after the first one
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Connecticut
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Connecticut
High-risk drivers can face some consequences for having a spotty driving record. If you have an at-fault accident, speeding, or driving with a suspended license conviction on your record, you’ll likely pay higher rates for car insurance.
In addition, Connecticut may have a few requirements to get you back on the road. The state can ask you to file an SR-22, or proof of financial responsibility. If you’re required to furnish proof but don’t, your license can be suspended or revoked.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Connecticut
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Connecticut
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Connecticut.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in Connecticut
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Connecticut requires drivers to have an auto insurance policy. The minimum amount of protection you need is $25,000/$25,000/$25,000 in liability, property damage, and uninsured motorist coverages.
No. Connecticut is not a no-fault state. It became an at-fault state in 1994, which means you’re liable for anyone’s injuries if you’re responsible for an auto accident.
Yes. You’re required to have uninsured motorist protection in Connecticut. You must have at least $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) according to state law. However, you can purchase additional coverage for more financial protection.
Yes. You must have proof of insurance on the vehicle before you can register it in Connecticut. Your insurance card must include the name of the insurance company, policy number, vehicle information, and the effective date of coverage showing it’s valid when the vehicle is registered.
Car insurance is a necessity for any Connecticut driver. If you are looking for cheap car insurance, use an online comparison tool like Insurify. In just a few minutes, you can compare car insurance quotes to find the best and cheapest car insurance coverage.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.