Nevada is home to the largest silver and gold mines in the U.S. so it's not a surprise that it then became famous for it's world class gambling and entertainment. What happens in "The Silver State" stays in the Silver State.
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Nevada . Drivers must have a minimum of liability coverage. Note: New residents must register their vehicle within 30 days of moving to Nevada
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability insurance policy is required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability and uninsured motorist coverage are the only requirements for Nevada motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Nevada requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times. The insurance company (provider) will give you an insurance card as proof of insurance.
The card will include:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Nevada drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Nevada:
All drivers are prohibited from hand held cellphone use while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators are subject to a $50 first offense fine, $100 second offense fine, $250 for all subsequent offenses within 7 years.