4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Why you can trust Insurify
Updated June 17, 2022
Laws in the state of Nevada dictate the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Nevada must hold 25/50/20 in liability insurance, which covers both bodily injury and property damage. Personal injury protection and uninsured motorist coverage are suggested. Plus, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages.
Car insurance is required by law in Nevada.
Drivers in Nevada must carry 25/50/20 in liability for bodily injury and property damage.
If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $250 to $750 in fines and a license suspension.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
The minimum car insurance requirements in Nevada are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 for property damage liability per accident
Nevada is an at-fault state. This means that if you’re found responsible for causing an accident, you and your insurance company have to cover the costs of damages and injuries. For this reason, you might want to consider additional coverage to protect yourself. On top of that, Nevada has no grace period. Even a one-day lapse in your coverage can lead to fines and penalties.
Why is car insurance required in Nevada?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Nevada.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Nevada.
Validate Your Insurance Electronically
Your proof of insurance must be validated electronically by an insurance company licensed to do business in Nevada, where the information is sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronic (NVLIVE) verification only applies to liability insurance. The DMV does not require proof of any additional coverage.
See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Nevada
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Is state minimum car insurance enough in Nevada?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in Nevada provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. If your driving record shows a higher risk of accidents and collisions, you may want to consider supplementing your auto insurance policy with liability insurance beyond the minimum coverage requirements.
Nevada law doesn’t require drivers to carry any insurance that would cover the at-fault driver’s and their passengers’ property damage coverage or help them pay for medical costs. Since the minimum requirements don’t apply, getting extra medical payments coverage (MedPay) could be worth a higher insurance cost.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Nevada
Nevada drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Nevada, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.
Other Supplemental Coverage
If you have additional needs for your coverage, know that you can customize your policy to fit your unique driver profile. While it’s not required for Nevada auto insurance, there are other add-ons to support you and give you peace of mind. For example, if you find yourself at a higher risk of collisions, rental car reimbursement can help pay for a car while yours is in the shop.
Additionally, if it comforts you to know that someone can help you with car trouble, maybe try roadside assistance. Services can include an on-call tow truck, changing a flat tire, jump-starting a dead battery, helping if you lock yourself out of your car, and delivering gasoline to your car if you run out. This might result in a higher insurance premium, but it could be worth it for safety.
See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Nevada
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Nevada
It is illegal to drive in Nevada without the minimum car insurance coverage. Like your driver’s license, you should always have proof of insurance with you whenever you get behind the wheel to operate a motor vehicle. If you fail to show law enforcement your insurance card, then you could face fines of $250 to $750 and a license suspension with high reinstatement fees.
First offense: $250 fine and potential SR-22 depending on the length of lapse
Second offense: $500 fine and potential SR-22 depending on the length of lapse
Third offense: $750 fine, SR-22 insurance, and a 30-day minimum license suspension
As mentioned earlier, Nevada has no grace period. This means that drivers need to have continuous coverage without any gaps. Even a one-day lapse in your coverage can lead to fines and penalties in the state’s tiered system.
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Nevada
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Nevada
If you’re prone to claims and collisions, you face not only higher auto insurance rates in the future but also some severe penalties and hurdles that make it harder to get back on the road. High-risk drivers and drivers who fail to show proof of insurance need to provide additional documentation, a movement permit to drive the vehicle, and new license plates.
One example of additional required documentation is an SR-22. This is a certificate that acts as proof of financial responsibility. An insurance company must purchase this for you and can help add it to your policy to help you get back on the road.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Nevada
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Nevada
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Nevada.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in Nevada
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Nevada
From Las Vegas to Reno, Nevada drivers can get the coverage they need without breaking the bank by shopping around first. Insurify does all the hard work to sift through rates from hundreds of different insurance companies, making it easy to compare car insurance quotes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, Nevada requires 25/50/20 in liability coverage to protect others in the case of bodily injury and property damage. Uninsured motorist coverage and MedPay aren’t required, but they are encouraged to make sure you and any other passengers in your car are covered. Also, be sure to register your liability insurance to the DMV through the NVLIVE program.
Nevada is an at-fault state, meaning you and your insurer are required to cover medical expenses and any other costs to repair damage caused by you. Law enforcement officers will determine who was responsible for causing the accident at the scene. For this reason, you might want to consider buying additional coverage to protect yourself.
No, this isn’t part of Nevada’s minimum insurance requirements, but it might be of use if you find yourself the victim of a hit-and-run or if you get into an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance. Otherwise, you might be stuck paying a high deductible for a collision you didn’t cause.
Yes, you need to present your proof of insurance either on a printed card or via your mobile device in order to register your vehicle. On top of this, know that it’s needed for most registration transactions in Nevada, like first-time registration, renewals, reinstatement, and license plate changes.
Getting the coverage you need to be safe on the road shouldn’t cost you an arm and a leg. Whether you’re just looking to fulfill the minimum insurance requirements or customize your policy to fit your additional needs, Insurify can help you get a great deal. Shopping around is the easiest way to save, so take a few minutes to get started and compare car insurance quotes.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.