Nevada is strict on DUIs and is one of the most costly in the nation for car insurance afterward. While moving to a different state for cheaper premiums probably isn't the answer, shopping for better car insurance rates is something you can do easily and right now.
No, you don't have to change insurance companies when you get a DUI. But when your rates are going up anyway, why not? In Nevada, rates after a DUI increase by hundreds of dollars. Think saving $10 a month on car insurance isn't that much? It is when you consider having to pay this elevated rate for the next five years or more. Shopping around now means shaving off hundreds of dollars over time. And if you keep your driving record clean, even lower rates may follow.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
No one considers the impact of a DUI before they get behind the wheel intoxicated. Afterward, the state makes the consequences crystal clear. But months down the road, you might be surprised to find you have even more costs to bear when it comes to car insurance.
Once the insurance company finds out about your DUI, your billing statement will look different. On average, your insurance rates will increase by over 99 percent. What does the average insurance bill in Nevada look like after a DUI? Drivers in similar situations are paying about $578 for car insurance—that's $288 more than the average cost other drivers pay.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Though you'll have to do some insurance shopping on your own to see your most individualized rates, we've run some numbers for you to turn up carriers with the cheapest prices. In Nevada, drivers with a DUI on their record should consider getting policies with Kemper, Travelers, or American Family Insurance.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$294|
After a DUI in Nevada, the average cost for car insurance is important for shoppers to keep in mind. Though you may land a price higher or lower than the average, this number can help you determine whether you've found a good deal.
Though you'll automatically pay more because of your DUI, averages in Nevada are higher than in most other states. Nevada ranks as the sixth most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI. Premiums for drivers with a DUI here average out to $578.66.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is necessary when determining administrative and criminal penalties for a DUI. This length of time determines how long a DUI is relevant. In Nevada, the lookback period is seven years. This means that any DUIs you get within a seven-year period are counted.
For example, if you have two DUIs within seven years, you'll be penalized for a first and second offense. If you can keep your record clean after a DUI for seven years, the Nevada DMV and courts consider that DUI irrelevant.
If convicted of a DUI in Nevada, you could land in prison, have to pay thousands in fines, and have your license taken away. The extent of the penalties can change based on age, the number of DUIs on your record, your blood alcohol content, whether minors were in your vehicle, and whether your actions caused injury or death.
For example, first-time offenders face up to six months in jail, $1,000 in court costs, and a 90-day suspension of their driver's license. If, however, their blood alcohol content (BAC) was above .18, they receive the additional penalties of having an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle and enrollment in a drug abuse treatment program.