Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in NY
The state of New York requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times. The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in New York are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury liability coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits New York state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liablilty insurance requirements in New York are:
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of New York requires $10,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/10. The second 10 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $10,000 are your responsibility.
- $50,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person per accident
New York is a no-fault state, so Personal Injury Protection (also called no-fault insurance) is a mandatory coverage for all drivers. New York PIP covers you, your immediate family, and your passengers for economic losses, medical costs, and death benefits regardless of fault. The state requires $50,000 for the minimum.
What happens if a driver hits you without insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? The state requires uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage:
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily per accident
Uninsured motorists bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.