Known as "The Mountain State," West Virginia is often referred to as the "Switzerland of the U.S." Besides the mountains, it's also known for its Civil War history and manufacturing of fine glass.
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in West Virginia . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and uninsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, and uninsured motorist coverage is required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, and uninsured coverage is the only requirements for West Virginia motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. West Virginia requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All West Virginia drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in West Virginia:
Drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using their cellphones while driving; hand-held or wireless. All drivers are prohibited from using a hand-held cellphone while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. West Virginia has a hand-held band, drivers are prohibited from holding a device while driving. Violators face a $100 fine for first offense, $200 fine for second offense, $300 fine and 3 points against driver’s license for all subsequent offenses.