Delaware Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Delaware . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and personal injury protection coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability insurance and personal injury protection coverage is required:
- $15,000 for bodily injury/death to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury/death per accident.
- $10,000 for damage to property.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $5,000 for funeral expenses
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability and PIP coverage are the only requirements for Delaware motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
- Surety bond: From two individuals that own property in Delaware, must have twice the amount of a bond.
- $40,000 cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of financial responsibility with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
- Certificate of insurance.
- Proof of financial responsibility.
Getting Pulled Over:
- If you’re pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
You are required to have proof of car insurance in the state of Delaware , if you are pulled over and cannot provide proof of insurance, or other forms of financial responsibility, you may face the following penalties:
- $1,500 minimum fine for first offense
- $3,000 minimum fine for each subsequent offense within 3 years.
- 6 month suspension of drivers’ license.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Delaware drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through the Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan (DAIP).
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Driving record
- Marital status
- Make/model/year of your vehicle
- Credit History
- * Car insurance companies are limited when using your credit history as a factor for determining your premium rates for new users. Your credit history cannot be used to increase your rates when renewing your policy with the same insurance company. You may, however, request your current insurance company to review your credit history if you believe that it has improved, and may help lower your rates.
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Delaware:
- Anti-theft device discount
- Defensive driver discount
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Safety device discount
All mobile device violations are considered a primary offense. All drivers are banned from handheld cellphone use while driving. All drivers are also prohibited from texting while driving, included, but not limited are: typing, sending, or reading a text message with a hand-held mobile telephone, or electronic device. Hands free devices are allowed, however, drivers with learner’s permits are prohibited from using cellphones. Offenders can face a $75 fine for the first offense, and a $100 for the second offense, $200 for subsequent cellphone violations.
Delaware Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Delaware
Full Insurance Laws for Delaware