Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in KS
Each state has at least a few differences in how it manages and enforces car insurance laws, so it’s important to understand the quirks and nuances of your state like this one: Is car insurance required in Kansas? Well, yes and no.
It may seem rare, but several states, including Kansas, offer alternatives to carrying insurance. This alternative is called Financial Responsibility in Kansas. Essentially, instead of going through an insurance company to cover damages drivers cause, drivers pay for damages out of their own pockets. Before they can legally drive without a policy, they must file proof of financial responsibility with the state.
For some drivers, this may seem like a great option. But for most everyone, driving without insurance is like walking a tightrope with no safety net—over the Grand Canyon in a windstorm.
If you (hopefully) decide to purchase coverage, then you’ll need to purchase at least the required minimum coverage. These are:
- $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury liability per person/accident
- $25,000 property damage liability
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured and underinsured motorist protection
- $4,500 personal injury protection coverage per person
These are called minimum requirements for a reason. Drivers can certainly purchase higher liability coverage limits for themselves and their families, and many drivers should. Once the limits are reached in the event of an accident, the driver at fault will be required to cover damages.
For drivers who often cart around several passengers at a time, it’s easy to see how quickly minimums will be exceeded. The same logic also applies to underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage limits.