Advertiser Disclosure

At Insurify, our goal is to help customers compare insurance products and find the best policy for them. We strive to provide open, honest, and unbiased information about the insurance products and services we review. Our hard-working team of data analysts, insurance experts, insurance agents, editors and writers, has put in thousands of hours of research to create the content found on our site.

We do receive compensation when a sale or referral occurs from many of the insurance providers and marketing partners on our site. That may impact which products we display and where they appear on our site. But it does not influence our meticulously researched editorial content, what we write about, or any reviews or recommendations we may make. We do not guarantee favorable reviews or any coverage at all in exchange for compensation.

Why you can trust Insurify: As an independent agent and insurance comparison website, Insurify makes money through commissions from insurance companies. However, our expert insurance writers and editors operate independently of our insurance partners. Learn more.

Kansas law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Kansas must hold 25/50/25 in bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage per accident. They are also required to have certain amounts of personal injury protection as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts
  • Car insurance is required by law in Kansas.

  • Drivers in Kansas must carry 25/50/25 in bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage per accident.

  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face at least $300 in fines and potential jail time.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas

The minimum car insurance requirements in Kansas[1] are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person

  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident

  • $25,000 for property damage liability per accident

  • Personal injury protection:

  • $4,500 per person for medical expenses

  • $900 per month for one year of disability/loss of income

  • $25 per day for in-home services

  • $2,000 for funeral, burial, and cremation expenses

  • $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses

  • $25,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person

  • $50,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident

Kansas is a no-fault car insurance state. This means your own auto insurance policy will cover your medical bills and certain other losses if you sustain injuries in a car accident, no matter who caused it. You’ll have to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) for this purpose.

The Sunflower State also has modified comparative negligence laws. If you’re 50 percent or more at fault, you won't be able to recover damages from the other driver. However, if you’re less than 50 percent liable, you can collect damages minus the percentage that you’re at fault.

Why is car insurance required in Kansas?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Kansas.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Kansas.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Personal injury protection is required in Kansas.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Kansas?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Kansas provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. If the cost of a car damaged in a catastrophic accident is significant, for example, the minimum property damage limit of $25,000 won’t be enough.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Kansas

Kansas drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Kansas, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

There are other car insurance options you might want to explore as a Kansas driver. MedPay, for example, is medical payment insurance that can cover a variety of medical costs after an accident, no matter who is at fault. It may pay for hospital visits and stays, ambulance and EMT fees, X-rays, surgeries, nursing care, prostheses, and dental care.

Rental reimbursement may cover the expense of a rental car while your car is being repaired after a covered accident. There’s also roadside assistance for unexpected emergencies on the road. It may pay for changing a flat tire, jump-starting a battery, towing, delivering gas, and retrieving keys inside a locked car.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Kansas

It is illegal to drive in Kansas without the minimum car insurance coverage. The penalties for doing so include[2]:

  • Fines: Depending on the incident, you may pay between $300 and $2,500.

  • Jail time: You may spend anywhere from a few months to a few years in jail.

  • Loss of driving privileges: Your right to drive might be revoked for up to three years.

  • SR-22 requirement: You may be required to file an SR-22 and pay a fee of at least $100.

High-Risk Car Insurance in Kansas

High-Risk Car Insurance in Kansas

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Kansas

If you’re considered a high-risk driver in Kansas due to a major traffic violation like reckless driving or a DUI, you’ll have to file an SR-22 with the state. An SR-22 is essentially a certificate that proves you meet the minimum car insurance requirements as a high-risk driver in Kansas.

To get an SR-22, you’ll need to reach out to your insurance company. Once you do so, you can expect to pay a higher premium for at least a few years. It’s important to note that some insurance providers may choose not to cover you if you warrant an SR-22.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Kansas

DUI Insurance in Kansas

SR-22 Insurance in Kansas

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Kansas

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Kansas.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Bristol West$148
Liberty Mutual$173
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time quotes from Insurify's 50-plus partner insurance providers. Actual quotes may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.
Best Car Insurance in Kansas

Best Car Insurance in Kansas

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas

With Insurify, you can compare car insurance quotes and find cheap car insurance in Kansas. Once you fill out a short form and share some details about your driving history and vehicle, you’ll receive auto insurance options from the top insurers. You can use this tool for free without having to sign up.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is car insurance mandatory in Kansas?

    Yes. The required minimum car insurance coverage in Kansas is 24/50/25 for bodily injury liability per person, bodily injury liability per accident, and property damage liability per accident. You’ll also need to invest in personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

  • Is Kansas a no-fault state?

    Yes. Kansas is one of the dozen states that follow a no-fault car insurance policy. No matter who is responsible for a car accident, your car insurance company will have to pay for all the medical expenses associated with it. Unless you invest in additional PIP coverage, this is usually $4,500.

  • Does Kansas require uninsured motorist protection?

    Kansas requires all of its drivers to carry auto insurance with liability and uninsured motorist protection. Uninsured motorist insurance will cover your expenses after an accident with a driver who doesn’t have car insurance. It can help you avoid hefty out-of-pocket costs.

  • Do you need car insurance to register a car in Kansas?

    You must show proof of car insurance to register a car in Kansas. If you wish to go through the registration process, you’ll need to visit the Kansas Division of Vehicles (DOV). In addition to your proof of insurance, you’ll need your vehicle title, driver’s license, registration application, and registration fee.

  • How can I find cheap car insurance in Kansas?

    If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Kansas, you may want to compare car insurance quotes with Insurify. This tool can allow you to find all the auto insurance policies available to you without having to visit individual company websites. You won’t have to pay a fee or sign up.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers


Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.


  1. Kansas Insurance Department. "State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 14, 2022
  2. Kansas Legislature. "Penalties for Driving Uninsured." Accessed June 16, 2022
Anna Baluch
Anna BaluchInsurance Writer

Anna Baluch is a Cleveland-based personal finance and insurance expert. With an MBA from Roosevelt University, she enjoys writing educational content that helps people make smart financial decisions. Her work can be seen across the internet on many publications, including Freedom Debt Relief, Credit Karma, RateGenius, and the Balance. Connect with Anna on LinkedIn.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers