4.8out of 3,000+ reviews

Arkansas Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (2022)

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
auto insurance

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify is America's highest-rated insurance comparison platform. We partner with the nation's top insurance companies and are licensed as an agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners, and you can learn more about how we make money by viewing our advertising disclosures. Also check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify is America's highest-rated insurance comparison platform. We partner with the nation's top insurance companies and are licensed as an agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners, and you can learn more about how we make money by viewing our advertising disclosures. Also check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.
Amy Beardsley
Written by
Amy Beardsley
Photo of an Insurify author
Written by
Amy Beardsley
Insurance Writer
Amy is a personal finance and technology writer. With a background in the legal field and a bachelor's degree from Ferris State University, she has a talent for transforming complex topics into content that’s easy to understand. Connect with Amy on LinkedIn.
Jackie Cohen
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Photo of an Insurify author
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Editorial Manager
Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.

Updated June 17, 2022

Arkansas law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Arkansas must hold 25/50/25 in bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage liability. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts

  • Car insurance is required by law in Arkansas.

  • Drivers in Arkansas must carry 25/50/25 in bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage liability.

  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face up to $1,000 in fines and potential jail time.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arkansas

The minimum car insurance requirements in Arkansas[1] are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person

  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident

  • $25,000 for property damage liability per accident

Arkansas is an at-fault state for auto insurance. This puts the financial responsibility for losses on the person who is at fault for causing the car accident. If you’re responsible, the injured person can file a claim with your insurer and file a lawsuit against you.

Why is car insurance required in Arkansas?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Arkansas.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Arkansas.

See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Arkansas?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Arkansas provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. The required amount covers up to $25,000 per person for bodily injury. It sounds like a lot of money, but it won’t last long when it comes to hospital bills and ongoing medical care for an injured person.

However, when you buy liability coverage, Arkansas law also requires your insurance company to offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This added protection covers you if the other driver is at fault and doesn’t have their own policy (or if their policy isn’t enough to cover your injuries).

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Arkansas

Arkansas drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Arkansas, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Insurance companies are required to offer personal injury protection in Arkansas.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

MedPay is an optional coverage offered by your insurance company. It can pay for your medical bills within two years after a car accident, up to $5,000. If you choose not to purchase MedPay, the law requires you to sign a statement indicating you’re waiving the coverage.

You may want to consider additional coverage, such as rental car reimbursement and roadside assistance. Rental car reimbursement can cover the cost to rent a vehicle if you’re unable to drive yours due to a covered loss. If you’re stranded with a flat tire or an empty gas tank, roadside assistance can come to your rescue.

See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Arkansas

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Arkansas

It is illegal to drive in Arkansas without the minimum car insurance coverage. If you get caught without coverage or don’t have proof of insurance on hand, you could face fines and penalties[2].

  • First offense: up to $250 fine and suspension of vehicle registration

  • Second offense: up to $500 fine and suspension of vehicle registration

  • Third or more: up to $1,000 fine, suspension of vehicle registration, and one year in jail

See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Arkansas

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Arkansas

Drivers with speeding tickets, DUIs, or at-fault accidents on their records may struggle to find an auto policy that meets their needs. However, coverage for high-risk drivers is available in Arkansas.

Ask your insurance company about SR-22 insurance. “SR-22” refers to a form (not an actual policy) and confirms that your policy meets the minimum car insurance requirements in the state. Your insurer may file it with the state for you, but you may have to pay an additional fee.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Arkansas

DUI Insurance in Arkansas

SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Arkansas

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Arkansas.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Progressive$68
Dairyland$117
Liberty Mutual$133
Bristol West$142
Nationwide$174
Disclaimer: actual quotes may vary based on the policyholder's unique driver profile.

See More: Best Car Insurance in Arkansas

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas

Online comparison tools are the best way to find cheap car insurance. The best online comparison tool is Insurify. With Insurify, you can compare car insurance quotes to get the information you need to make better decisions about auto insurance coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Yes. Arkansas state law requires you to have auto insurance if you own a vehicle. The minimum liability coverage you need is $25,000/$50,000/$25,000 in bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage liability. The minimum amount may not be enough, and you can purchase additional coverage to better protect yourself.

  • No. Arkansas is an at-fault state. That means if you’re responsible for causing an accident, you would be considered at fault, and your auto insurance policy will likely need to cover the financial costs of injuries and property damage.

  • No. Uninsured motorist protection is an optional coverage in Arkansas. It covers your injuries and damage if the at-fault driver doesn’t have auto insurance. You can also purchase underinsured motorist protection to protect you if the at-fault driver’s insurance isn’t enough to pay for your injuries and property damage.

  • Yes. You must have car insurance before registering a vehicle in Arkansas. The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) also requires a title, bill of sale, or statement of origin and a federal odometer statement.

  • Finding cheap car insurance in Arkansas isn’t as hard as you might think. When you use Insurify to compare car insurance quotes, you can get rates from some of the top insurers. That way, you can find the right policy at the right price for you and your family.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
  • Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.

Sources

  1. Alaska Department of Insurance. "Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 14, 2022
  2. Consumer Federation of America. "Pemalties for Driving without Insurance." Accessed June 16, 2022
Amy Beardsley
Written by
Amy Beardsley
Linkedin

Insurance Writer

Amy is a personal finance and technology writer. With a background in the legal field and a bachelor's degree from Ferris State University, she has a talent for transforming complex topics into content that’s easy to understand. Connect with Amy on LinkedIn.

Learn More
Jackie Cohen
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Linkedin

Editorial Manager

Photo of an Insurify author
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Editorial Manager
Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.