When the sun goes down, the nightlife heats up, and to cool down, many head to the bar. Sometimes, one drink leads to another, and before you know it, it's last call and then time to go home. You hop in the car and start the trek home, only to get pulled over. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher, the officer will give you a drunk driving ticket. It's an all-too-common scene, as Arizona had 27,653 DUI arrests in 2018 alone, the most recent year reported.
Drunk driving never pays, and its consequences could be life changing. Think criminal penalties, jail time, and pricey fines. After the lawyers and courts have their turn, insurance companies want a piece of the action. With a DUI, you are seen as an increased risk and charged more for it. In Arizona, the sun will always shine again, and with a little work, you can find an affordable rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
DUIs can damage your ride, relationships, and resources. It's that last one that takes a hit from insurance companies, but just how much?
Well, the state average is $235 per month, and those with a clean record skate below that, at $205. It was just one more drink, but boy does it cost because a DUI shoots the price up by 82 percent, to $373. The math on that adds up to $168 more per month, or over $2,000 per year. With that much money on the line, partying at your place seems like the best choice.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
In the Grand Canyon State, no matter how you dress it up, DUI car insurance prices can be downright ugly. But some companies find a way to give a competitive rate to those with less-than-perfect records. Motion Auto and Sun Coast offer a budget-beautiful $128, and Bristol West is not too far behind.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Motion Auto Insurance||$128|
|Sun Coast General Insurance Agency, Inc.||$128|
Your driver profile, vehicle, and location all go into producing a price and policy tailored to you. That said, to legally get behind the wheel, people with a DUI pay an average of $373. In fact, that number makes Arizona the 25th most expensive DUI car insurance in the U.S.
Yes, it's higher than most want to hand over, but it's still less than a third of the $1,200 per month the folks in Michigan cough up after a DUI. Plus, you can save money by lowering your coverage to the state minimum. If you own an older car, you may think about opting for liability only instead of comprehensive and collision coverage.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Arizona's lookback period is seven years, which is relatively lenient compared to the many states that have a 10-year or lifetime period. A second DUI within seven years and prosecutors will treat you as a repeat offender. Fortunately, insurance companies limit their search to just the three most recent years, although some go up to five.
What can you do to lower your bill while you wait? Three strategies have helped people in the meantime. You can compare coverages and quotes, avoid tickets and accidents, and shop around when your renewal comes every six months.
For Arizonans, the level of punishment increases based on the BAC and number of DUIs. First-time offenders can expect jail time of 1 to 10 days, fines of $1,480 or higher, a license suspension for 90 days, and an ignition interlock device requirement for one year. Refusing a test carries an automatic one-year license suspension.
The state enforces a "not a drop" law for those under age 21, so a BAC higher than .00 constitutes a DUI. These drivers face jail time of up to six months, a fine of $750, and a license suspension of two years.