Arizona Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (2024)

Mallory Profeta
Written byMallory Profeta
Photo of an Insurify author
Mallory ProfetaInsurance Writer

Mal Profeta is a writer, editor, educator, and public health advocate. They serve as the communications director of an NIH-funded clinical and translational science research center that focuses on addressing health disparities in Appalachia. A former Fulbright recipient, they hold a bachelor's degree from Transylvania University and a master's from New York University.

Jackie Cohen
Edited byJackie Cohen
Photo of an Insurify author
Jackie CohenEditorial Manager

Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.

Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.

Updated June 27, 2022 at 12:00 PM PDT

Save up to $717 by comparing quotes from the top 70+ insurance companies

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
4.8/5
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers
Advertiser Disclosure

At Insurify, our goal is to help customers compare insurance products and find the best policy for them. We strive to provide open, honest, and unbiased information about the insurance products and services we review. Our hard-working team of data analysts, insurance experts, insurance agents, editors and writers, has put in thousands of hours of research to create the content found on our site.

We do receive compensation when a sale or referral occurs from many of the insurance providers and marketing partners on our site. That may impact which products we display and where they appear on our site. But it does not influence our meticulously researched editorial content, what we write about, or any reviews or recommendations we may make. We do not guarantee favorable reviews or any coverage at all in exchange for compensation.

Why you can trust Insurify: Comparing accurate insurance quotes should never put you at risk of spam. We earn an agent commission only if you buy a policy based on our quotes. Our editorial team follows a rigorous set of editorial standards and operates independently from our insurance partners. Learn more.

Arizona law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Arizona must hold $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person ($50,000 per accident with two or more people) and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage.

Quick Facts
  • Car insurance is required by law in Arizona.

  • Drivers in Arizona must carry 25/50/15 in bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage.

  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face suspension of their license and/or vehicle registration, fees, and higher car insurance rates.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arizona

According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, minimum car insurance requirements in the state are[1]:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, and $50,000 per accident

  • $15,000 for property damage liability per accident

Be sure to note that the state’s minimum insurance does not include any coverage for personal injury, which helps pay if you or your passengers are hurt. Also, Arizona is a comparative-fault state, meaning fault and financial responsibility can be shared. If you cause an accident or are partially at fault, the minimum coverage might not cover everything you’re responsible for.

Why is car insurance required in Arizona?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Arizona.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Arizona.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
4.8/5
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Arizona?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in the state of Arizona provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it’s likely not enough for everyone. With only the minimum liability insurance, you’ll be responsible for any property damage costs beyond $15,000 and any bodily injury costs beyond $25,000 for one person and $50,000 per accident.

If you’re responsible for an accident, these relatively low liability limits could leave you on the hook for exorbitant costs in property damage and others’ medical care. And meeting the state’s minimum insurance limits also won’t give you any coverage for your own injuries if you’re at fault. Being underinsured can wreck your finances for a long time.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Arizona

Arizona drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Arizona, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an underinsured uninsured driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

If you want coverage to help with your own and your passengers’ medical costs or funeral expenses after an accident in Arizona, you’ll need to purchase medical payments insurance, sometimes called MedPay. This coverage can provide important financial relief if you’re injured in a car wreck.

Depending on which insurance company they chose, Arizona drivers may also be able to opt into things like roadside assistance coverage, rental car coverage, accident forgiveness, vehicle replacement, and more.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Arizona

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Arizona

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Arizona

It is illegal to drive in Arizona without the minimum car insurance coverage. If you’re caught by law enforcement without proof of insurance, you might face fines and your vehicle registration and/or driver’s license can be suspended for three months to one year.

To get them back, you’ll face fees and have to submit future proof of financial responsibility with the state’s motor vehicle division (MVD), which could cost you a lot over the long run because it results in higher insurance rates.

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Arizona

To get back on the road after getting caught without the state’s minimum amount of car insurance, you’ll need to show future proof of financial responsibility in one of two forms:

  • A Certificate of Insurance (known as an SR-22) from any insurance company licensed to conduct business in Arizona, or

  • A certificate from the Arizona Office of Treasurer showing deposit in cash or certificates of deposit of at least $40,000.

If you go the SR-22 route (which is most common), you’ll be required to carry that form for three years, which is going to cost you: you’ll be grouped into the “high-risk” category, so your insurance premiums will be much higher. Plus, not every car insurance company offers SR-22 insurance. If you fail to maintain proof, your license and registration will be suspended.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Arizona

DUI Insurance in Arizona

SR-22 Insurance in Arizona

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Arizona

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Arizona.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Travelers$97
Progressive$100
Bristol West$117
Liberty Mutual$150
Dairyland$163
Nationwide$176
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time quotes from Insurify's 50-plus partner insurance providers. Actual quotes may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Arizona

The first step to finding the best rate on vehicle insurance is to shop around. You can save time with Insurify, which lets you compare car insurance quotes from multiple companies in your area. We also have objective agents who can help you free of charge at 1 (866) 405-5518.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is car insurance mandatory in Arizona?

    Yes. The state requires drivers to have at least $15,000 in property damage liability and $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability insurance. Neither personal injury protection nor medical payments insurance is required in Arizona.

  • Is Arizona a no-fault state?

    Arizona is a comparative-fault state. This means that fault—and financial responsibility—can be shared between drivers. For example, if you’re considered 25 percent responsible for causing the accident, you’ll be responsible for 25 percent of the cost.

  • Does Arizona require uninsured motorist protection?

    No, the state does not require uninsured or underinsured motorist protection. This means that unless you purchase this optional coverage, you could be left without recourse if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or in a hit-and-run.

  • Do you need car insurance to register a car in Arizona?

    Drivers have 30 days after registering a car to submit proof of car insurance.

  • How can I find cheap car insurance in Arizona?

    You should always compare prices before buying a plan. Insurify’s price-comparison tool lets you see quotes from multiple insurers in your area at once. Don’t forget to ask insurance companies about any discounts you might be eligible for, like for bundling insurance plans, paying your premium in full, getting good grades, or going accident-free.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
4.8/5
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers

Methodology

Insurify data scientists analyzed more than 90 million quotes served to car insurance applicants in Insurify’s proprietary database to calculate the premium averages displayed on this page. These premiums are real quotes that come directly from Insurify’s 50+ partner insurance companies in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quote averages represent the median price for a quote across the given coverage level, driver subset, and geographic area.

Unless otherwise specified, quoted rates reflect the average cost for drivers between 20 and 70 years old with a clean driving record and average or better credit (a credit score of 600 or higher).

Liability-only premium averages correspond to policies with the following coverage limits:

  • Bodily injury limits between state-minimum rates and $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
  • Property damage limits between $10,000 and $50,000
  • No additional coverage
Full-coverage premium averages correspond to the same bodily injury and property damage limits in addition to:
  • Comprehensive coverage with a $1,000 deductible
  • Collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible

Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Services’ database of auto insurance rates.

Sources

  1. Arizona Department of Transportation. "Vehicle Insurance Information." Accessed June 16, 2022
Mallory Profeta
Mallory ProfetaInsurance Writer

Mal Profeta is a writer, editor, educator, and public health advocate. They serve as the communications director of an NIH-funded clinical and translational science research center that focuses on addressing health disparities in Appalachia. A former Fulbright recipient, they hold a bachelor's degree from Transylvania University and a master's from New York University.

Jackie Cohen
Edited byJackie CohenEditorial Manager
Photo of an Insurify author
Jackie CohenEditorial Manager

Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.

Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
4.8/5
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers