Texas is the second-largest state in the country by both population and size. With all those cars on the road, a reliable auto insurance policy is essential for Lone Star State drivers of all ages and backgrounds.
This guide to Texas car insurance will get you on the right path to the perfect policy to fit you and your lifestyle. Drivers save an average of $489 after searching for a new policy on Insurify. Compare the cheapest and best quotes in Texas here.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Texas
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Texas for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in Texas.
Best Car Insurance in Texas
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated insurance company reviews. The following are the top-rated insurance providers that offer car insurance in Texas. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
|Insurance Company||Insurify Composite Score||Quotes|
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Texas
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), these are the most popular car insurance companies in Texas by market share:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Texas by City
Auto insurance costs will vary between locations and insurance providers. Insurify analyzed the latest data for the five most populous cities in Texas to find you the cheapest quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
Houston, the most populated city in the state of Texas, comes with its own set of rules of the road. Natives of the Bayou City often comment on the labyrinthine set of bus stops, train tracks, and twisty roads that are common in the downtown area.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Texas by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Texas based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service. Average rates may vary depending on the profile and background of the policyholder.
Cheap Car Insurance for Good Drivers
For Texas drivers with a clean driving record free of any moving violations, auto insurance rates may be significantly lower. Progressive offers the best options for good drivers in Texas, at $54 a month. With both cheaper premiums and safe driving discounts, it can pay to have a record free of accidents or traffic tickets.
Cheap Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers in Texas, including those with one or more traffic violations, may have to pay more on their car insurance premiums. Allstate offers the cheapest annual cost for high-risk drivers in Texas, with monthly costs at $35 per month for speeders and $47 per month for car drivers with DUIs. The Texas Farm Bureau Group offers the lowest rate for drivers with accidents at $35 monthly.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with DUI in Texas
Everybody makes mistakes and has to deal with the fallout. The fallout for a DUI is rough: court fines, reinstatement fees, SR-22 filing, and years of paying more for car insurance to name only a few. Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI is no small feat. If you find yourself really struggling to get an affordable rate, consider only carrying liability coverage as a way to save.
Here are the best rates we could find for Texas drivers with a DUI:
|Texas Farm Bureau Group||$50/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident in Texas
The sinking feeling after realizing you’ve caused an accident is no exaggeration. Even a tiny fender bender can raise rates to levels that significantly alter your budget. If you’ve paid for accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. If not: discounts, discounts, discounts.
And comparison shopping at least every time your policy is up for renewal: insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years while the other looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
|Texas Farm Bureau Group||$35/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Speeding Drivers in Texas
The need for speed can soon turn into the need for a new budget. Speeding tickets can affect people differently. But essentially, the more often you speed—and the higher your mph—the more points you’ll receive on your driver’s license. Higher points mean higher prices in the car insurance game.
The best way to lower costs? Slow down and find a discount program, like a defensive driving course reduction.
|Texas Farm Bureau Group||$35/month|
Cheap Auto Insurance for Young Drivers
If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Texas, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the national average. Since inexperienced drivers run a higher risk for insurance providers, their rates are often significantly higher than the average driver. Allstate offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $34 monthly. Teen drivers must abide by special driving restrictions, including curfews, electronic device limitations, and passenger age restrictions. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these rules before hitting the road. Average rates for young drivers in Texas are as follow:
|Car Insurance Company||Quote|
|Texas Farm Bureau Group||$38/month|
Insurance policies for 21-year-olds generally run higher than the national average by a significant margin. Even though they’re no longer considered teen drivers, 21-year-olds are still regarded as high-risk to insurers. Unlike most states, Texas 21-year-olds benefit from the state’s ban on using gender, education level, and credit score as factors when calculating premiums. This will generally help young Texans lower their monthly payments. To find the cheapest car insurance for 21-year-olds, use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify.
Cheap Car Insurance for Foreign Drivers
To legally drive in Texas as a non-U.S. citizen, you’ll need to check to make sure you have a few necessary items.
In the state of Texas, drivers are allowed to operate a vehicle using a valid, unexpired foreign license for up to one year or until they become a Texas resident. Once a person has legally become a Texas resident, they have 90 days to apply for and obtain a Texas license to continue to drive.
It is also recommended to obtain an International Driving Permit (IDP) before driving in the United States. An IDP is not a driver’s license, but simply a translation of your permission to drive in your home country. Both forms of documentation must be present to prove your permission to drive in the United States. IDPs must be obtained in your home country.
In addition to a driver’s license, foreign drivers must purchase car insurance before driving in Texas. For long-term driving in the States, it will be necessary to purchase traditional car insurance. For the cheapest car insurance options personalized to you, use Insurify to compare quotes.
Texas State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Texas
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Texas roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Texas are as follows:
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Texas state law are $30,000 for the death or injury of a single victim as a result of a car accident and $60,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. Insurance providers list this type of coverage as 30/60, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimum. In the case of an accident, liability coverage can aid perpetrators with costs involved in a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Texas law.
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of Texas is $25,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Comprehensive insurance coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses/auto damage due to a collision.
Collision insurance coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are optional add-ons for drivers who might incur damages from an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is recommended in the state of Texas through the forms of:
Medical Payments, or simply Med Pay, covers reasonable medical costs for you or your passengers in the case of injury from an accident. If a car accident results in serious bodily injury, Med Pay can help ease the stress of high medical bills after a hospital visit by increasing coverage levels.
Am I liable if I cause a car accident in Texas?
Texas is an “at fault” state, meaning the driver determined to be at-fault is responsible for damages caused in a car accident.
Bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver would generally cover medical expenses of any other individuals hurt in the accident, while property damage liability would cover the other driver’s vehicle repair.
If you are involved in a car accident in Texas where more than one driver is considered at fault or negligent, both you and the other driver can file claims with your own insurance companies. With Texas’ modified comparative fault rules, drivers deemed 50 percent or less at fault for an accident can make a claim. After a court has determined the percentage of fault each driver is responsible for, their compensation will be matched. For example, a court deems Driver A 15 percent at fault for not using their turn signal, and Driver B 85 percent for trailing too closely in a rear-end collision. If the total award came to $30,000, Driver A would claim the full amount minus their 15 percent of fault, totaling $25,500.
Texas’ at-fault laws are considered “modified” since they cap the compensation at 50 percent fault. In other words, if a driver is found more than 50 percent responsible for a car accident, they won’t be able to collect compensation, even if there was damage to their own vehicle or other expenses related to the crash.
Texting and Driving in Texas
Since 2017, Texas has a statewide ban on cellphone use while operating a mobile vehicle.
Texting, reading, and writing on a cell phone while driving is outlawed. Hands-free use of mobile phones is permitted. For drivers under the age of 18, all use of wireless devices is prohibited. Unlawful use of a mobile device will result in a $25-99 penalty for the first violation and will increase with each offense. The state’s new distracted driving rules outlaw the use of all handheld devices except voice-operated or hands-free modes. This means that you can get penalized for even glancing at your phone to see incoming notifications. Drivers should become familiar with local restrictions and ordinances in their own area, as cellphone laws in Texas are rapidly changing.
Auto Insurance Coverage and Natural Disasters
Your car insurance policy will cover damage caused by a hurricane or flooding, as long as you have comprehensive coverage.
As Texans know all too well, when it comes to Mother Nature, expect the unexpected. With increased rates and strength of hurricanes and flooding in the past few years, knowing you’re covered in case of an emergency gives peace of mind.
To ensure you’re protected if a natural disaster destroys your car, you should opt into supplemental comprehensive coverage. This extra source of insurance will ensure that you’re covered if your vehicle is damaged or destroyed due to a natural disaster. Drivers with expensive cars and those who live in areas of Texas most prone to flooding should consider adding comprehensive coverage to their policy. Otherwise, drivers of cars that are paid off or less valuable can opt for liability-only coverage to save on their auto policy. Any flood or hurricane damage that your vehicle suffers (ah, Texas!) will then have to be paid for out of pocket. That includes the costs of replacing your car, too.
Other Special Insurance Programs in Texas
Texas drivers are generally required to obtain a traditional insurance policy from private insurance companies to operate on state roadways. Other options of financial responsibility for Texas drivers include the following:
- File a surety bond with the Texas Department of Public Safety through a joint bond with two property-owning securities totaling the state’s minimum liability car insurance requirements
- Making a $55,000 deposit with the state comptroller in either cash or securities
- Making a $55,000 deposit with the county judge where your vehicle is registered, in either cash or cashier’s check
- Qualifying for a certificate of self-insurance through the Texas Department of Public Safety. This ensures you pay the same amount covered the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements if you cause an accident (only available to individuals who own 25 or more vehicles)
Car Insurance Coverage for Undocumented Immigrants in Texas
Texas is home to an estimated 1.6 million undocumented immigrants. Most Texas auto insurance companies will require their policyholders to have a valid driver’s license. Undocumented people can’t obtain valid Texas driver’s licenses, so most will have to find an insurance company that will allow them to enroll without one. This will likely result in a significant price increase.
SR-22 Insurance in Texas
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these car insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of Texas on your behalf. Texas’ state licensing authority will inform drivers if they require SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, DWI, moving violation, or other serious offense, you may be required to file for b SR-22.
In Texas, many insurance companies offer to file an SR-22 on your behalf, including Acceptance, Affirmative, Aggressive, Ameriprise, Anchor, AssuranceAmerica, Carnegie Insurance, Dairyland, Direct General, Elephant, Esurance, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, Gainsco, GEICO, Good2Go, Hallmark, Infinity, Jupiter Auto, Mendota, Mercury, National General, Personable Insurance, Progressive, SafeAuto, Safeco, Safeway, Star Canyon, Stillwater, The General, Titan, United Auto, and Victoria.
AAA Car Insurance and Roadside Assistance In Texas
Locked your keys in the car? Battery dead? Flat tire? If you’ve ever found yourself in this situation, you’ve probably relied on the American Automobile Association (AAA), for roadside assistance. But did you know that AAA also offers automobile insurance for Texas drivers?
Divided into regional clubs, AAA operates all over the state. To find out which independent agents operate AAA insurance in your region, visit AAA’s website, and search using your ZIP code.
Texas Auto Insurance FAQs
Is car insurance mandatory in Texas?
Yes. Drivers in Texas must have proof of auto insurance that meets the state's minimum requirements to drive in the state legally. If caught driving an uninsured vehicle, Texans risk civil or criminal charges. First-time offenders of driving as an uninsured motorist in Texas will be slapped with a citation and fines ranging from $175 to $350. Drivers are required to keep proof of insurance on their person any time they are operating a vehicle on Texas roadways. The Texas Department of Insurance states that electronic documents accessible from a smartphone are sufficient proof of insurance if you are not driving with a hard copy of your insurance documentation. Your proof of insurance must include the car insurance company's name, address, policy holder's period of coverage, and auto insurance policy number.
Do I need Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in Texas?
Personal Injury Protection covers the costs of medical bills resulting from a car accident. If you are injured in a car accident, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays for contributes towards medical expenses and other related costs. In Texas, PIP Coverage can help with: Medical expenses from injuries suffered in an auto accident. Lost wages due to missed time at work. Replacement services to assist in domestic work you could have done on your own before you were injured. In Texas, PIP coverage is mandatory unless explicitly declined in a waiver.
Which company offers the cheapest car insurance in Texas?
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Texas and save on your insurance premiums is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you're a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify.com provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
Why It Pays to Go Green in Texas
The state of Texas offers many green driver incentives, including federal tax credits, repair vouchers, and replacement assistance for fuel-efficient vehicles, vouchers, grants, rebates, and discounts through some car insurance companies.
Texas also reinstated its electric vehicle incentive program, offering a $2,500 discount at the purchase of all-electric, plug-in hybrid, and fuel cell vehicles. When combined with the federal tax credit, green drivers in Texas can add up to $10,000 in incentive on a new electric car.
Texas DMV Information
With a population nearing 30 million, it’s no wonder the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles has many outposts across the state.
Every office is open weekdays from 8 AM to 5 PM, with some locations offering additional early-morning and weekend hours. The DMV is notorious for long lines and wait times.
At the DMV, Texas residents can access services like driver’s license and identification card registration and renewal, vehicle registration, and license plate pick-up, as well as insurance information and services provided by the Texas Department of Insurance. Many services are available online and via U.S. Mail for convenience. Unfortunately, the Texas Department of Public Safety does not offer appointments. For the shortest wait times, avoid planning your visit on Mondays and Fridays or during lunch hours. Regardless of where you live in the Lone Star State, a DMV shouldn’t be too far.
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles has hundreds of outposts, including regional service centers in El Paso, Midland-Odessa, Lubbock, Amarillo, Abilene, Wichita Falls, Austin, Waco, Fort Worth, Dallas, Longview, San Antonio, Pharr, Corpus Christi, Houston, and Beaumont.
According to the Texas Department of Insurance, twenty percent of drivers on Texan roads are uninsured. That’s a one in five chance that your next car accident might involve an uninsured motorist. Don’t risk it- get coverage today!
To find the best insurance company and coverage based on your personal metrics, use an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify. From the Rio Grande Valley to Great Plains, Texan drivers deserve to find the cheapest car insurance available.
Compare Texas car insurance companies today on Insurify.