Buying a new vehicle is a fun and exciting experience. Not only do you get to enjoy the process of test-driving cars at the dealership, but you also get a few perks from your insurance company. Once you purchase the vehicle, you will often be given a grace period of 2 to 30 days to get your new car listed on your current auto insurance plan.
For drivers who are purchasing their first car or who don’t already have auto insurance, you will need to obtain proof of insurance immediately. Finding the right policy can take time, but with Insurify, your process becomes incredibly easy. Simply answer a few questions, and you will be presented with a single-page list of qualified car insurance quotes to compare.
What is a car insurance grace period?
Generally, there are two different types of insurance grace periods that drivers should be aware of. The first is in reference to making your payments. While insurers want everyone to pay on time, most understand that things come up in life that prevent you from making a payment. That’s why many providers will offer a grace period where you can delay paying your premium.
The other grace period that is available for drivers takes effect when purchasing a new vehicle. While the amount of time will vary depending on which insurance company you choose, most will give you two to 30 days to get your new vehicle added to your existing insurance plan. This helps keep you from being uninsured while driving and financially protected against bodily injury.
What are the Florida laws for grace periods?
When it comes to grace periods for new motor vehicles, there are currently no laws in Florida that determine the length of time you have to list your vehicle on an existing policy. Instead, the length of time is often determined by the insurance company. This is why it is important to speak with your local insurance agent to see what your current provider’s grace period is.
How soon do you have to get insurance on a new car in Florida?
Unless you don’t currently have an auto insurance plan, most Florida insurance companies will offer a grace period before you are required to switch your new vehicle to an existing policy. If you are buying your first car or don’t already have coverage, then you will be required to obtain a plan before you can drive.
>>>MORE: Same Day Car Insurance
How long are grace periods in Florida?
The exact length of grace periods in Florida doesn’t often follow a standard set of time. Instead, each insurance company sets its rules around grace periods for new cars. Most Florida drivers can expect anywhere from 2 days up to 30 days before they are required to have their new vehicle listed on their current auto insurance policy.
Do different Florida insurance companies have different grace period policies?
You will notice as you compare companies, many Florida insurance companies will offer different grace periods as part of the plan. If you are looking for a longer grace period, then you will want to take that into consideration when shopping for a new policy. It is fairly standard for big-name insurance providers like Progressive and GEICO to offer a 30-day grace period.
Car Accidents and Traffic Offenses During Your Grace Period
The main reasons for grace periods on new vehicles is to extend coverage to drivers until they have the opportunity to list the new car on their current policy. This means that car accidents and traffic offenses that would normally be covered under your plan will be covered during your grace period as well.
Car Accidents During Your Grace Period
No one plans to get into a car accident, but it happens to millions of people every year. If you are involved in a collision during your grace period, your insurance provider will generally still provide coverage. This applies to most car insurance coverage, including liability coverage, personal injury protection, collision coverage, property damage liability, and full coverage.
Traffic Offenses During Your Grace Period
Traffic offenses during your grace period can have the same effect on your auto insurance as they would at any other time. Generally, car insurance companies will raise rates if you have a history of violations or obtain multiple offenses close together.
After Your Grace Period: Why It’s a Bad Idea to Let Your Policy Lapse
Letting your policy lapse can have a big impact on how much you pay for auto insurance. Insurance companies see it as a red flag and will often classify you as high-risk if you have a lapse in coverage. This often means that you will be paying higher insurance premiums in the future when you obtain a new policy.
>>> MORE: High-Risk Car Insurance Companies
Prior Coverage vs. No Prior Coverage: The Data
The effects of having a coverage lapse in Florida can be seen in the chart below. Not only do rates increase, but it can often be as much as 20–25 percent. On average, drivers who had prior liability coverage paid $55 less for their premiums than those without prior coverage.
|Type of Coverage||Had Prior Coverage||Didn’t Have Prior Coverage|
Other Tips to Lower Car Insurance Rates in Florida
There are many ways that Florida drivers can lower their car insurance rates. Many insurance providers will offer lower rates if you drive an old car or if your vehicle has extra safety measures. Also, taking advantage of discounts available to you is also a great way to get affordable coverage.
>>>MORE: Cheap Auto Insurance Florida
Stay Covered and Save on Your New Car Insurance Policy with Insurify
If you are purchasing a new vehicle and want to compare your current rates with what is available on the market, shopping around is the easiest way to do so. Insurify offers a user-friendly platform where you can compare all your qualifying quotes on one screen. This makes the auto insurance comparison process quick and easy, allowing you more time to enjoy your new ride.
Florida New Car Insurance Grace Period: Quick Questions
Is there a grace period for paying for auto insurance in Florida?
In Florida, there is a grace period ranging from 2 to 30 days for drivers who purchase a new vehicle. The grace period, however, only applies if you already have an existing car insurance policy in place that you plan to add your new vehicle to. If you don’t already have coverage or are taking out a loan, you won’t have a grace period.
Do I need car insurance before I buy a car in Florida?
Unless you currently have car insurance, you will need to obtain coverage before purchasing a car in Florida. In most cases, any lender that you get an auto loan through will require that you have insurance. If you already have coverage, Florida law will allow you up to 30 days to get the new vehicle transferred to your existing policy.
What are the penalties for driving without car insurance in Florida?
Similar to other states, it is against the law to drive a vehicle without car insurance in Florida. Generally, penalties for a no insurance violation include a reinstatement fee that can be as high as $500. Also, most drivers caught driving without insurance will need to provide proof to the state that they have insurance before they can drive again.
What is the best way to get car insurance if your policy has lapsed?
If you have a lapse in auto insurance coverage, the first place you should start is with your current provider. Depending on how many payments you have missed, some insurers will allow you to reinstate your policy. If reinstatement isn’t an option, your local insurance agent might provide you with details on what to do to obtain coverage again.