As the third most populous state in the nation, it’s no wonder that there are over twenty million registered vehicles in the state.
With all those cars on the road, a solid auto insurance policy is essential for Sunshine State drivers of all ages and backgrounds. This guide to Florida car insurance will get you on the right path to the perfect policy for you and your lifestyle. Compare the cheapest and best quotes in Florida here.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Florida
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Florida for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in Florida.
Best Car Insurance in Florida
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, mobile app reviews, and user-generated insurance provider reviews. The following are the top-rated providers that offer car insurance in Florida. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
|Insurance Company||Insurify Composite Score||Quote|
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Florida
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), these are the most popular car insurance companies in Florida by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Florida by City
Auto insurance costs will vary between locations and insurance providers. Insurify analyzed the latest data for the five most populous cities in Florida to find you the cheapest quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
Miami, Florida’s most populous city, is well known for its less than ideal traffic conditions. The metropolis ranks sixth for the cities with the worst traffic conditions in the country, according to Insurify’s recent data analysis of traffic congestion and commute times.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Florida by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Florida based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
Cheap Car Insurance for Good Drivers
For Florida drivers with a clean record free of any moving violations, auto insurance rates may be significantly lower. Progressive offers the best options for good drivers in Florida, at $65 a month. With both cheaper premiums and safe driving discounts, it can really pay to have a driving record free of accidents or traffic tickets.
Cheap Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers in Florida, including those with one or more traffic violations, may have to pay more on their car insurance premiums. USAA offers the cheapest annual cost for high-risk drivers in Florida with monthly costs at $74 for car owners with DUIs, $42 for drivers with accidents, and $42 for speeders.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with DUI in Florida
Everybody makes mistakes and has to deal with the fallout. The fallout for a DUI is rough: court fines, reinstatement fees, SR-22 filing, and years of paying more for car insurance to name only a few. Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI is no small feat. If you find yourself really struggling to get an affordable rate, consider only carrying liability coverage as a way to save.
Here are the best rates we could find for Florida drivers with a DUI:
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident in Florida
The sinking feeling after realizing you’ve caused an accident is no exaggeration. Even a tiny fender bender can raise rates to levels that significantly alter your budget. If you’ve paid for accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. If not: discounts, discounts, discounts.
And comparison shopping at least every time your policy is up for renewal: insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years while the other looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
Cheap Car Insurance for Speeding Drivers in Florida
The need for speed can soon turn into the need for a new budget. Speeding tickets can affect people differently. But essentially, the more often you speed—and the higher your mph—the more points you’ll receive on your driver’s license. Higher points mean higher prices in the car insurance game.
The best way to lower costs? Slow down and find a discount program, like a defensive driving course reduction.
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers
If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Florida, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Since inexperienced drivers run a higher risk for insurance providers, their rates often run significantly higher than the average driver. GEICO offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $60 a month. teen drivers may be required to abide by special driving restrictions, including curfews, electronic device limitations, and passenger age restrictions. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these rules before hitting the road. Average rates for young drivers in Florida are as follow:
Insurance policies for 21-year-olds generally run higher than the national average by a significant margin. Even though they’re no longer considered teen-drivers, 21-year-olds are still regarded as high-risk to insurers. To find the cheapest car insurance for 21-year-olds, use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify.
Cheap Car Insurance for Foreign Drivers
To legally drive in Florida as a non-U.S. citizen, you’ll need to check to make sure you have a few necessary items.
First and foremost, foreign drivers must hold a valid driver’s license from their home country. You’ll also need an International Driving Permit, or IDP. An IDP is not a driver’s license, but simply a translation of your permission to drive in your home country. Both forms of documentation must be present to prove your permission to drive in the United States. IDPs must be obtained in your home country.
In addition to a driver’s license, it is necessary for foreign drivers to purchase car insurance before driving in Florida. For long-term driving in the States, it will be necessary to purchase traditional car insurance. For the cheapest car insurance options that are personalized to you, use Insurify to compare quotes.
Florida State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Florida
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Florida roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles are as follows:
- $10,000 no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Florida state is $10,000. In the case of an accident, liability coverage can aid perpetrators with costs involved in a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Florida law.
- $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of Florida is $10,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident, up to the declared coverage limit.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Comprehensive Insurance Coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses/auto damage due to a collision.
Collision Insurance Coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are optional add-ons for drivers who might incur damages from an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is recommended in the state of Florida through the forms of:
Medical Payments, or simply Med Pay, covers reasonable medical costs for you or your passengers in the case of injury from an accident. If a car accident results in serious bodily injury, Med Pay can help ease the stress of high medical bills after a hospital visit.
Auto Insurance Coverage and Natural Disasters
As Floridians know all too well, when it comes to Mother Nature, expect the unexpected. With increased rates and strength of hurricanes and flooding in the past few years, knowing you’re covered in case of an emergency gives peace of mind. In order to ensure you’re protected if your car is destroyed by a natural disaster, drivers should opt into supplemental comprehensive coverage. This extra source of insurance will ensure that you’re covered if your vehicle is damaged or destroyed due to a natural disaster.
Am I liable if I cause a car accident in Florida?
As a no-fault state, Florida drivers are covered if involved in a car accident, even if it’s there own fault.
One of just a handful of states, Florida has no-fault auto insurance laws. What does that mean, exactly? With a no-fault insurance law system, monthly premiums are kept low by compensating victims of car accidents quickly on behalf of at-fault drivers. In contrast to limited liability systems, Florida’s no-fault system ensures fast payouts and avoids lawsuits. For example, if a medical claim is filed in Florida, the first $10,000 of coverage will automatically come from a driver’s own PIP, regardless of fault. Since the no-fault laws have been put in place. Florida auto insurance companies are able to offer monthly premiums at a lower rate than the national average.
Texting and Driving in Florida
Texting and driving in Florida will result in fines for the driver.
Florida recently furthered restrictions on cell phone use and vehicle operation. Texting while driving is now illegal throughout the state. Until now, Florida was one of just four remaining states that categorized texting and driving a secondary offense.
In work zones and school zones, drivers are prohibited from holding their phones and must use hands-free mode. Talking on a cell phone while operating a vehicle is permitted as long as just one ear is not in use, so headphones and earbuds are not allowed
Auto Insurance Coverage and Natural Disasters
Your car insurance policy will cover damage caused by a hurricane or flooding, as long as you have comprehensive coverage.
As Floridians know all too well, when it comes to Mother Nature, expect the unexpected. With increased rates and strength of hurricanes and flooding in the past few years, knowing you’re covered in case of an emergency gives peace of mind.
To ensure you’re protected if a natural disaster destroys your car, you should opt into supplemental comprehensive coverage. This extra source of insurance will ensure that you’re covered if your vehicle is damaged or destroyed due to a natural disaster. Drivers with expensive cars and those who live in areas of Florida most prone to flooding should consider adding comprehensive coverage to their policy. Otherwise, drivers of cars that are paid off or less valuable can opt for liability-only coverage to save on their auto policy. Any flood or hurricane damage that your vehicle suffers (ah, Florida!) will then have to be paid for out of pocket. That includes the costs of replacing your car, too.
Other special insurance programs in Florida
Florida drivers are required to obtain a traditional insurance policy from private companies to operate on state roadways. An alternative option to traditional insurance coverage is to obtain a self-insurance certificate issued by the Department of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
Self-insurance is pretty self-explanatory; instead of paying an insurance company to take you on as a risk, you take on that risk yourself. Florida drivers who are able to prove sufficient financial stability to the FLHSMV can apply for a certificate of self-insurance. As a self-insurer, drivers take on the liability for the same minimum coverage as would an insurance company under the Florida requirements for bodily injury, property damage, and personal injury coverage.
Car Insurance Coverage for Undocumented Immigrants in Florida
Florida is home to an estimated two million undocumented immigrants. Most Florida auto insurance companies will require their policyholders to have a valid driver’s license. Undocumented people can’t obtain valid driver’s licenses, so most will have to find an insurance company that will allow them to enroll without one. This will likely result in a significant price increase.
SR-22 Insurance in Florida
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these car insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of Missouri on your behalf. Missouri‘s state licensing authority will inform drivers if they require SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, DWI, moving violation, or other serious offense, you may be required to file for an SR-22.
In Florida, many insurance companies offer to file an SR-22 on your behalf, including Acceptance, Ameriprise, AssuranceAmerica, Dairyland, Direct General, Esurance, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, Gainsco, GEICO, Good2Go, Infinity, Mendota, Mercury, National General, Progressive, Safeco, Stillwater, The General, Titan, United Auto, and Victoria.
Florida Auto Insurance FAQs
Is car insurance mandatory in Florida?
Yes. Drivers in Florida must have proof of auto insurance that meets the state's minimum requirements to drive in the state legally. If caught driving an uninsured vehicle, Floridians risk civil or criminal charges and fines ranging from $150 to $500. Drivers are required to keep proof of insurance on their person any time they are operating a vehicle on Florida roadways. Prior to registering a vehicle in the state of Florida, residents must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) auto insurance. PIP will cover 80 percent of all medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a car accident, regardless of who caused the accident. PDL will provide coverage for damages to another party's damaged property.
Will my credit score affect my car insurance rate?
Yes. Unfortunately, it can be challenging to find cheap car insurance in Florida if you have a poor credit score. Florida car insurers are permitted to use credit score as a factor when calculating the risk of any given policyholder, meaning they can hold your poor credit score against you. Insurers have found that drivers with poor credit histories are more likely to file auto insurance claims, thus increasing the insurance premiums of bad credit drivers to account for the increased risk. Depending on where you live in Florida, car insurance premiums fluctuate based on many factors, not just credit score.
Which insurance company offers the cheapest car insurance in Florida?
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Florida and save on your insurance premiums is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you're a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify.com provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
Why It Pays to Go Green in Florida
The state of Florida offers many green driver incentives, including federal tax credits, repair vouchers and replacement assistance for fuel-efficient vehicles through some car insurance companies.
Complete and submit in the federal Form 8936 (Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit) to claim up to $7500 in tax credits for your qualifying Electric Vehicle purchase. Additionally, drivers of electric and hybrid cars in Florida may be able to save with toll discounts plus slashed insurance rates for high capacity and alternative fuel vehicles.
Florida HSMV Information
With a population nearing 20 million, it’s no wonder the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in all 67 counties at 146 outposts around the state. Most offices are open weekdays from 8:30 AM to 5 PM, with some locations offering additional early-morning and weekend hours. The Florida DHSMV is notorious for long lines and waits times; beat the wait by making an appointment online using OASIS, or by calling before your visit.
At the FHDMV, Florida residents can access services like driver’s license and identification card registration and renewal, vehicle registration, and license plate pick-up. Many services are available online and via U.S. Mail for convenience. Regardless of where you live in the Sunshine State, an FHDMV outpost shouldn’t be too far.
Florida drivers reap many benefits when it comes to car insurance rates and the state’s laws.
To find the best companies and coverage based on your personal metrics, get a free quote by using an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify. From Jacksonville to Orlando, Floridian drivers deserve to find the cheapest car insurance available.
Compare Florida car insurance companies today on Insurify.