Receiving a DUI in California can have a significant impact on the price you pay for auto insurance. Insurance companies often see it as a sign that a driver is more likely to take risks behind the wheel. Because of the additional risk, insurers will tack on a DUI rate multiplier to your rates, making them much more expensive.
Even though the DUI will live on your driving record for a substantial amount of time, it is still possible to find affordable coverage. The best way to find a competitive rate is to shop around for multiple quotes. However, if you have multiple DUIs in a short period of time, it may be difficult to find coverage that isn’t double or triple the price of a driver with no incidents on their record.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Having a DUI violation can significantly impact how much you pay a month for auto insurance. Insurance companies in California quote drivers with DUI incidents an average rate of $555. On average that is 1356% percent more than the $235 that motorists with no incidents pay a month. One reason for the large increase is due to the assumed risk that comes with insuring drivers with DUI violations.
Although rates differ by $320 between drivers with a DUI and those without, the increase doesn’t last forever. Many insurers will take into consideration how long ago your violation was and if you have had any other incidents since the first DUI.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Shopping around for quotes is the best way to find affordable insurance if you have a DUI on your record. There are several providers who offer more leniency for violations, especially if this is your first incident and you have had no other violation on your record. Some of the companies offering the lowest rates include Freedom National, SafeAuto, and Anchor.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Aspire General Insurance||$208.99|
|Sun Coast General Insurance Agency, Inc.||$241.02|
California currently ranks as the 9th most expensive state for auto insurance when you have a DUI. In New York, premiums for drivers after a DUI average out to $554, making it one of the most costly states for drivers with a DUI. However, drivers with multiple DUI incidents will see their rates increase to double or even triple the current average rates throughout the state.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
The consequences of a DUI reach far beyond increased car insurance rates, as California’s lookback period for such an offense is 10 years. This means that a DUI will stay on a person’s driving and criminal record for a decade from the date of the violation.
Repeat DUIs within this lookback period will result in increasingly steeper fines and penalties, making it even more crucial for drivers to engage in safe habits behind the wheel. After 10 years, a motorist convicted of a DUI will be treated as a first-time offender.
Being charged with a DUI in California can carry heavy penalties. First-time offenders may face up to six months in county jail and will be fined anywhere from $390 to $1,000. They may have to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle and use it for six months, and could be required to attend DUI school for three to nine months.
Having multiple DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including jail time, fines, and license revocation. License suspension for repeat offenders is also a possibility.