Giving a friend the keys or hopping in an Uber is always a better choice than trying to drive home after one too many drinks. The law says you're drunk driving if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. What happens if you decide to risk it in the Keystone State? One scenario leaves you seeing flashing red and blue lights in the rear-view mirror. And far worse, just glance at the following stats : Pennsylvania had 9,380 alcohol-related crashes and 299 fatalities in 2019.
DUIs lead to headaches, financial pressure, and even jail time. Every story unfolds differently, but one commonality is hefty car insurance premiums. Because insurance companies see drivers with a DUI as a much greater risk, they offset the higher probability of paying a claim by charging much higher amounts. Pennsylvania insurance rates after a DUI sit near the middle of the pack, so a reasonable figure's not impossible.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
When you get charged with a DUI, the one thing you can guarantee is change. Changes show up at work, school, or even with your closest family. What difference can you expect on your car insurance bill?
If you have a clean record in Pennsylvania, your average monthly payment is $190. But all it takes is to drink one too many and jump behind the wheel, and that amount goes up by 97 percent. At $373, a DUI could leave you paying nearly double. The cost ends up being $183 more per month, translating to over 2,000 reasons a year to find a safer way home.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Some companies charge so much it's hard for all but the most affluent people to afford insurance with a DUI. But Travelers offers a surprisingly competitive premium at $101 per month. Others like Safeco and Verti make it possible for you to find insurance even with a less-than-perfect record.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$159|
|Good2Go Auto Insurance||$187|
Of course, your bill will differ based on your specific situation, but Pennsylvanians with one or more DUIs spend an average of $373. That means the state ranks 24th for the most expensive DUI premium in the country. The change won't happen overnight, but safe driving always pays long-term dividends in Pennsylvania.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
The lookback period is the time frame that the state will consider drivers to be repeat offenders for a second DUI. In Pennsylvania, the state sets the limit at 10 years before treating another DUI as a first offense. That said, most insurance companies only look at the past three years when setting premiums, while some go as far back as five.
What to do in the meantime? You'll want to make sure your record stays clean. And to keep your price competitive, track down new quotes every six months when your policy renews with a quote comparison tool like Insurify.
The punishment's severity is decided by whether a test was refused and the driver's BAC. A first-time DUI carries probation or jail time of six months, a fine between $300 and $5,000, and a license suspension of 12 months. Also, a judge may order up to 150 hours of community service, and an ignition interlock device may be required for a year.
Underage DUIs carry all the same penalties, but a driver under 21 is guilty of DUI with a BAC of .02 or higher. Regardless of age, the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition program could help first-time offenders keep DUIs off their records.