It started with just one more drink, a quick thought of "I'm good," and finally, you get pulled over, and it's time to take a breathalyzer. Illinois law says a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher is drunk driving. Sadly, the scenario's all too common; there were 26,224 DUI arrests in 2019 alone.
What happens after you get a DUI? The consequences include jail sentences, fines, and other penalties, all designed to deter drivers from making that all-too-dangerous choice. Car insurance prices are just one more thing that becomes more expensive after an alcohol-related violation. Once a DUI shows up on your record, insurance companies charge a higher premium to compensate for the added risk of paying a claim. Illinois DUI insurance rates fare better than most of the country, meaning an affordable price is not out of reach.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
In the Prairie State, a DUI can mean lost jobs, damage to relationships, and a hit to the pocketbook. A spike in the car insurance bill comes with the territory, but just how much?
The average insurance price for Illinois drivers is $180, and if you have a clean record, your average monthly beats that, at $170. One added drink and a court sentence later, and your rate goes up by 92 percent, to a jaw-dropping $326. If most people realized the difference of $156 more per month, or over $1,800 more per year, you'd see more people ordering a Coke at the bar.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Some companies can really stick it to you after a DUI, making some people choose between rent and insurance. Fortunately, there are options to protect your vehicle, even if you have a mishap on your record. USH&C leads the pack, at $92 per month. Mile Auto and Liberty Mutual also offer competitive prices.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|First Chicago Insurance Company||$126|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$185|
Your driver profile and history allow insurance companies to tailor your rate to your situation. That said, DUI drivers shell out $326 per month. That cost makes Illinois 37th for the most expensive DUI premiums in the country. Two-thirds of the country pay more, and those in Michigan, the most expensive state, fork over more than triple, at $1,200 per month.
If your DUI has you pinching pennies, you may drop comprehensive and collision coverage on an older car and choose liability only. You might also think about lowering your policy limits closer to the state minimum.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
While many states have a time frame of 5 or 10 years, Illinois has a lifetime lookback period. That means judges can factor in any earlier DUI when handing out penalties and sentences, although the time between convictions is factored in. Favorably, most car insurance companies stop at three years, while a few go up to five years.
While you wait, avoid further accidents and tickets to keep your record clean. When your insurance comes up for renewal or around every six months, check to see if you can get a better rate.
Convictions carry harsher punishment for higher BAC levels, driving with passengers under 16, repeat offenses, and test refusal. First-time offenders can expect jail time between six months and one year, community service for 100 hours, a fine between $500 and $2,500, and a license suspension of one year. Repeat offenders can face up to seven years in jail.
Illinois is a "zero-tolerance" state for drivers under the age of 21, so blowing anything above a .00 BAC will cause a minimum three-month license suspension. Anyone who breaks the DUI law must complete an alcohol and drug evaluation. If there is a substance abuse problem, a treatment program will be required.