Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in IL
Illinois drivers must keep a copy of their insurance card in their vehicle at all times.
If you’re pulled over and you cannot provide proof of insurance, you will be required to provide that proof in court. And you’ll face a $100 fine.There are several important insurance requirements for minimum coverage for Illinois drivers:
- Bodily injury coverage per person / per accident: $25,000 / %50,000
- Property damage liability coverage: $20,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $20,000/$40,000
- Uninsured motorist property damage: $15,000 with $250 deductible
- Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000/$50,000
Liabiltiy insurance coverage is non-negotable. You can, however, reject uninsured motorist coverage if you want to. You’ll need to do so in writing. Of course, we don’t recommend doing so, especially because an estimated 13.7% of Illinois drivers are uninsured.
Other optional coverages for your auto policy include, of course, comprehensive and collision. Comprehenisve coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses/auto damage due to a collision. Collision coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”