4.8out of 3,000+ reviews

Colorado Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (Updated September 2022)

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Advertising disclosures
auto insurance

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.
Amy Beardsley

By: Amy Beardsley

Edited by Jackie Cohen

Updated June 17, 2022

Colorado law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Colorado must hold 25/50/15 in bodily liability per person, bodily liability per accident, and property damage liability. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts

  • Car insurance is required by law in Colorado.
  • Drivers in Colorado must carry 25/50/15 in bodily injury liability and property damage liability.
  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $500 or more in fines and potential jail time.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Colorado

The minimum car insurance requirements in Colorado[1] are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage liability per accident

Colorado is an at-fault state. In the event of an accident, you can file a claim with the other driver's insurer. At the same time, another driver can file a claim with your insurance company if you’re responsible for the accident. That’s why it’s crucial to have at least the minimum required auto insurance in Colorado.

Why is car insurance required in Colorado?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Colorado.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Colorado.

See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Colorado?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Colorado provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. The minimum requirement for car insurance only protects you up to $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) if you injure another person.

Increasing your coverage limits can better protect you if you’re at fault for an accident in Colorado. You may want to consider uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to help bridge the gap. (More on that below.)

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Colorado

Colorado drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Colorado, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

Colorado drivers can also add medical payments coverage to their auto insurance policy. It acts as a supplement to a person’s health insurance. Medical payments coverage can pay for medical expenses like deductibles and co-payments for you and your passengers, regardless of who’s at fault for the accident.

See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Colorado

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Colorado

It is illegal to drive in Colorado without the minimum car insurance coverage. You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Otherwise, you could face fines and penalties such as[2]:

  • Four points on your driver’s license
  • Minimum $500 fine and license suspension for the first offense
  • Minimum $1,000 fine and four-month license suspension for second offense
  • Minimum $1,000 fine and eight-month license suspension for third and subsequent offenses

In addition, you may be required to do community service. Courts can add up to 40 hours of community service in addition to the penalties listed above.

See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Colorado

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Colorado

You might be labeled as a high-risk driver if you have DUIs, speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or other charges on your driving record. If your license is suspended as a result of risky driving behavior, you may be required to file an SR-22 with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

An SR-22 is a form that can be sent from your auto insurance company to prove you have the right amount of coverage. The auto insurer may submit the form to the DMV, but you can also deliver it in person or by mail[3].

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Colorado

DUI Insurance in Colorado

SR-22 Insurance in Colorado

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Colorado

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Colorado.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Progressive$101
Bristol West$106
Travelers$132
Dairyland$138
Nationwide$199
Liberty Mutual$207
Disclaimer: actual quotes may vary based on the policyholder's unique driver profile.

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado

Finding cheap auto insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements doesn’t have to be difficult. You can easily compare car insurance quotes on Insurify. It takes just a few minutes, and you can see rates from top insurers side by side.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Yes. Colorado state law has minimum required coverages for auto insurance. All drivers in the Centennial State must hold $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $15,000 in property damage liability.

  • No. Colorado is an at-fault state. Drivers must have a certain amount of car insurance, and you must file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance if you’re in an accident.

  • No. Uninsured motorist protection is an optional coverage that drivers can purchase in Colorado. It can be beneficial coverage to have in addition to your required minimum coverage. Uninsured motorist protection can cover the claim if the other driver has no automobile insurance.

  • Yes. The Colorado DMV requires proof of insurance before you can register a car. Proof can be in the form of a Colorado insurance card, a letter from your insurance company, or electronic proof (from an app or image on your mobile phone, laptop, or other device).

  • Saving money on auto insurance has never been easier. Use Insurify to compare car insurance quotes and choose the right coverage amount at the best price.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required
  • Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.

Amy Beardsley
Amy Beardsley
Linkedin

Insurance Writer

Amy is a personal finance and technology writer. With a background in the legal field and a bachelor's degree from Ferris State University, she has a talent for transforming complex topics into content that’s easy to understand. Connect with Amy on LinkedIn.

Learn More

Sources

  1. Colorado General Assembly. "State Minimum Car Insurance." Accessed June 15, 2022
  2. Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association. "Uninsured Motorists." Accessed June 17, 2022
  3. Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles. "SR-22 and Insurance Information." Accessed June 17, 2022