Temporary Car Insurance in Colorado (November 2026)

Drivers can’t buy temporary auto coverage in Colorado. The best alternatives include buying a standard six-month policy and canceling it early or buying a usage-based policy.

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
4.7 / 518K reviews
Theresa Stevens
Writer: Theresa Stevens

Qualifications:
  • AFCPE Accredited Financial Counselor

  • 6 years experience in the personal financial industry


Theresa is a writer and former financial advisor with experience helping clients solve money challenges. She uses her expertise to clarify complex personal finance concepts.


Photo of an Insurify author
Editor: Katie PowersLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed auto and home insurance agent

  • 4+ years experience in insurance and personal finance editing

  • NPN: 20564519


Katie uses her knowledge and expertise as a licensed property and casualty agent in Massachusetts to help readers understand the complexities of insurance shopping.

David Marlett
Reviewer: David MarlettAdvisor

Qualifications:
  • 25 years teaching risk management and insurance course

  • Former commercial lines underwriter


David is the managing director of the Brantley Risk and Insurance Center. He has been quoted by The New York Times and CNN.

Updated

Why you can trust Insurify: Comparing accurate insurance quotes should never put you at risk of spam. We earn an agent commission only if you buy a policy based on our quotes. Our editorial team follows a rigorous set of editorial standards and operates independently from our insurance partners. Learn more.

Can you get temporary car insurance in Colorado?

Temporary car insurance isn’t available in Colorado, and most standard car insurance policies last six or 12 months.

You might be searching for a short-term car insurance policy for various reasons, such as borrowing a vehicle from a friend or family member or renting a car while traveling in Colorado.

Although Colorado doesn’t offer temporary car insurance, you can find alternatives that will help you avoid coverage gaps, which can result in serious consequences.

In Colorado, driving without car insurance can result in a suspended license if you don’t show proof of insurance within eight days.[1] If convicted of this class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense, you’ll have to pay a minimum fine of $500.

Find Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado

Liability quotes start at $55/mo.

Excellent
4.7 out of 5 based on 18,162 reviews
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
ProgressiveLiberty MutualAllstate

Cheapest car insurance companies in Colorado

Although temporary car insurance policies aren’t available in the state, the table below lists the cheapest car insurance companies in Colorado that offer standard auto policies.

The below rates in Colorado are estimated rates current as of: Sunday, November 1 at 12:28 AM PDT. 
Insurance Company
Average Monthly Quote: Liability Only
Average Monthly Quote: Full Coverage
State Farm$55$125
Sun Coast$60$215
The General$65$200
Progressive$67$135
Root$71$154
USAA$71$160
Mile Auto$73$183
American Family$75$171
GEICO$76$176
Bristol West$83$186
Auto-Owners$98$221
Trexis$99$268
Mendota$102$254
Safeco$106$190
National General$108$243
Dairyland$111$253
Allstate$113$231
Direct Auto$115$256
Travelers$139$311
Farmers$145$326
Liberty Mutual$168$290
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time Colorado car insurance quotes from Insurify's 500+ partner insurance providers and quote estimates from Quadrant Information Services. Actual car insurance quotes in Colorado may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.

Best temporary car insurance alternatives in Colorado by situation

The best temporary car insurance alternative depends on your situation, such as whether you want temporary coverage because you’re borrowing someone’s car or renting a vehicle while on vacation in Colorado.

Compare the insurance options in the table below to determine which alternative might be right for you.

Situation
Best Option
How It Works
Watch For
Drivers who need insurance coverage temporarilyEarly cancellationBuy a standard auto policy and cancel when you don’t need it anymoreEarly cancellation penalties
Drivers who mainly drive short distancesPay-per-mile insurancePay a monthly base rate plus a charge for each mile drivenCosts will increase the more you drive
Drivers with safe driving habitsUsage-based insuranceInsurer tracks your driving activity and behavior to customize your rateBad driving habits can increase your insurance costs
Drivers who frequently borrow vehiclesNon-owner car insuranceOffers liability coverage when you drive someone else’s carOnly covers the other driver and vehicle
Drivers who travel oftenRental car insuranceProtection while driving a rented vehicle, sometimes with a collision damage waiverHigh out-of-pocket deductibles
Drivers who borrow cars from family membersJoining someone else’s policyThe vehicle owner adds you as a driver to their policyAdding a driver can increase insurance costs
Drivers who don’t need their car for an extended periodStored-vehicle coverageOffers comprehensive coverage that protects your vehicle against risks such as vandalism and theftDoesn’t include liability coverage

Early cancellation

  • Best for: Drivers who need car insurance for their own vehicle for less than six months

  • How it works: You purchase a standard auto insurance policy and cancel it before the end of the term. When shopping around for insurers, consider any potential early cancellation fees.

Pay-per-mile insurance

  • Best for: People who drive minimally or drivers with second vehicles that they only drive for part of the year

  • How it works: Pay-per-mile insurance has a base monthly premium and a per-mile fee. If you don’t drive a lot, it can be an affordable choice. But if you end up driving more than expected, monthly costs can rise.

Usage-based insurance

  • Best for: People with safe driving habits

  • How it works: Usage-based car insurance relies on your driving data collected through telematics technology to evaluate your driving activity. Driving safely may lower your rate, while risky driving habits may increase it.

Non-owner car insurance

  • Best for: People who don’t own their own vehicle but frequently drive other people’s cars

  • How it works: Non-owner car insurance in Colorado typically includes state-minimum coverage. It offers liability protection if you cause an accident while driving someone else’s car, but it doesn’t cover injuries or property damage to you or the borrowed vehicle.

Rental car insurance

  • Best for: Traveling drivers who rent cars

  • How it works: Rental car companies generally offer optional coverage that protects you while driving a rented vehicle. Since this coverage can be expensive, check if your personal auto policy or credit card company provides rental car insurance before purchasing additional coverage.

Joining someone else’s policy

  • Best for: Drivers with regular access to a friend or family member’s vehicle

  • How it works: If you regularly use a friend or relative’s car, the policyholder may be able to add you as an occasional driver to the policy. Keep in mind that adding a driver can affect the insurance premium, especially if you have negative marks on your driving history.

Stored-vehicle coverage

  • Best for: People who want to park their vehicle in a garage while traveling or during deployment

  • How it works: A stored-vehicle policy typically includes comprehensive coverage that helps protect a car you don’t drive against theft, vandalism, and weather-related risks. For example, if a tree falls on your garage during a storm and damages your vehicle, stored-vehicle coverage offers protection.

How much do temporary car insurance alternatives cost in Colorado?

The cost of temporary car insurance alternatives in Colorado depends on various factors, including your policy type, location, vehicle, and overall driving record.

If you need temporary coverage for a vehicle you own, one option is to purchase a six-month policy and cancel it early. Just make sure to factor in any early cancellation fees. The average cost of standard car insurance in Colorado is $97 per month for liability-only coverage and $217 for full coverage.

Other alternatives may offer savings depending on how much or how well you drive. Pay-per-mile car insurance charges a base rate and a per-mile rate, which can be a good option for infrequent drivers. But costs can increase the more you drive. Safe drivers may be able to save with usage-based car insurance, which partially bases rates on your driving habits, such as braking and speeding.

Since costs vary by insurer, the best way to determine your actual costs is to request quotes from multiple insurance companies in Colorado.

What do short-term car insurance alternatives cover in Colorado?

The coverage you receive from short-term car insurance alternatives depends on your situation and the policy type you choose.

Here are common auto coverage types you may have access to, depending on the temporary car insurance alternative you choose in Colorado.

  • State-minimum car insurance requirements: Auto insurance policies in Colorado must meet the state’s minimum requirements, which include bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage.

  • Collision coverage: This optional coverage helps you pay to repair or replace your vehicle after an accident with another vehicle or object, such as a tree or fence. Collision insurance, along with liability and comprehensive coverage, makes up a full-coverage policy.

  • Comprehensive coverage: In the aftermath of damage from a non-collision event, such as theft or vandalism, comprehensive coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle.

  • Underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage: UM/UIM insurance helps pay for your medical expenses and property damages if an uninsured or underinsured driver hits your vehicle.

What temporary car insurance alternatives won’t cover in Colorado

It’s important to understand the policy limitations and exclusions of whichever coverage type you choose.

These are some common exclusions for temporary car insurance alternatives in Colorado:

  • Standard car insurance: Typically excludes routine maintenance, intentional damage, commercial use, unlisted drivers, and personal items stolen from the vehicle

  • Pay-per-mile and usage-based insurance: Some pay-per-mile and usage-based insurers may exclude rideshare insurance and drivers who need to maintain an SR-22 form

  • Non-owner policy: Excludes collision and comprehensive coverage

  • Stored-vehicle coverage: Excludes liability insurance and collision coverage

Shop for Car Insurance in Colorado

Insurify partners with 120+ auto insurers for real quotes

Excellent
4.7 out of 5 based on 18,162 reviews
Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
ProgressiveLiberty MutualAllstate

Minimum coverage requirements in Colorado

Colorado laws require all drivers to carry minimum car insurance coverage. Colorado car insurance requirements include the following:[2]

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

  • Property damage liability coverage: $15,000 per accident

Consequences of driving without coverage in Colorado

Driving without car insurance in Colorado is illegal and can result in penalties and other consequences.

In Colorado, driving without car insurance is a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense, punishable by a license suspension and a minimum $500 fine. For a second offense within five years of the previous offense, the minimum fine increases to $1,000. Additionally, you may need to complete at least 40 hours of community service.

Colorado requires drivers to file an SR-22 when reinstating their licenses following certain suspensions or revocations. An SR-22 isn’t an insurance policy. It’s proof of insurance coverage you submit to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you don’t keep the SR-22 current for the required length of time, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license.[3]

Temporary car insurance in Colorado FAQs

If you still have questions about Colorado temporary car insurance, find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions below.

Can you get car insurance for one day in Colorado?

No. Daily, weekly, or monthly car insurance doesn’t exist in Colorado. Standard auto policies last at least six months.

Can you get car insurance for one month in Colorado?

Monthly car insurance in Colorado doesn’t exist. If you need temporary car insurance, your best option might be to buy a six-month policy, then cancel it when you no longer need it. Keep in mind that it might involve an early cancellation penalty.

What’s the cheapest alternative to temporary car insurance in Colorado?

The cheapest alternative to temporary car insurance in Colorado for you will depend on your coverage needs and driving record. The best way to find cheap coverage is to request quotes from multiple insurance companies to compare car insurance rates.

What are other options for short-term car insurance in Colorado?

Short-term car insurance coverage doesn’t exist in Colorado. Your best alternatives include purchasing a standard policy and canceling it early, non-owner car insurance, rental car insurance, and pay-per-mile or usage-based auto policies.

When would you need temporary auto insurance?

You may need temporary auto insurance when borrowing a car from a friend or relative, renting a vehicle while traveling, or storing a vehicle you only drive seasonally.

Sources

  1. Colorado Department of Revenue. "Auto Insurance."
  2. Colorado General Assembly. "Mandatory Automobile Insurance in Colorado."
  3. Colorado Department of Revenue. "SR-22 and Insurance Information."

Methodology

Insurify data scientists analyzed more than 250 million quotes served to car insurance applicants in Insurify’s proprietary database to calculate the premium averages displayed on this page. These premiums are real quotes that come directly from Insurify’s 500+ partner insurance companies in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quote averages represent the median price for a quote across the given coverage level, driver subset, and geographic area.

Unless otherwise specified, quoted rates reflect the average cost for drivers between 20 and 70 years old with a clean driving record and average or better credit (a credit score of 600 or higher).

Liability-only premium averages correspond to policies with the following coverage limits:

  • Bodily injury limits between state-minimum rates and $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
  • Property damage limits between $10,000 and $50,000
  • No additional coverage
Full-coverage premium averages correspond to the same bodily injury and property damage limits in addition to:
  • Comprehensive coverage with a $1,000 deductible
  • Collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible
Theresa Stevens
Writer: Theresa Stevens

Qualifications:
  • AFCPE Accredited Financial Counselor

  • 6 years experience in the personal financial industry


Theresa is a writer and former financial advisor with experience helping clients solve money challenges. She uses her expertise to clarify complex personal finance concepts.


Photo of an Insurify author
Editor: Katie PowersLicensed P&C Agent, Senior Insurance Editor

Qualifications:
  • Licensed auto and home insurance agent

  • 4+ years experience in insurance and personal finance editing

  • NPN: 20564519


Katie uses her knowledge and expertise as a licensed property and casualty agent in Massachusetts to help readers understand the complexities of insurance shopping.

David Marlett
Reviewer: David MarlettAdvisor

Qualifications:
  • 25 years teaching risk management and insurance course

  • Former commercial lines underwriter


David is the managing director of the Brantley Risk and Insurance Center. He has been quoted by The New York Times and CNN.