When the night is young, one more drink might not even cause a second thought. But as the fun progresses, your blood alcohol content (BAC) could pass the legal limit of .08. If you jump in the car and get pulled over, the cop will hand you a ticket for drunk driving. Sadly, it happens all too often, considering Tennesseans were arrested 19,538 times for DUIs in 2019 alone.
When sober, everyone knows that drunk driving is a mistake. But it's hard to get that message to a person with a buzz. Maybe consequences such as criminal charges, jail time, or hefty fines could do the trick. It doesn't stop at court costs and lawyer fees; there's also the hit from insurance companies. After a DUI, they pump up your rate to offset the new level of risk you bring. But even with the mishap on your record, you can still find an affordable price in Tennessee.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
No matter what you end up spending, a common refrain is that "DUIs cost more than what you want to pay." But just how do the chips fall when it comes to car insurance?
First, the state average is $181 per month, and those with a clean record skate below that, at $172. One little mistake bites because it balloons the rate by 99 percent, to $342. When you run the numbers, you find it's an added $170 per month, or over $2,000 per year. For many people, that's all the incentive they need to never take another sip past their personal stopping point.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Yes, you have a DUI, but you still must get back and forth to work, school, or the grocery store. Are there any companies that offer reasonable rates? Liberty Mutual delivers a premium that will make commuting possible again, at $108. GAINSCO and Bristol West also deserve a spot on your checklist.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$176|
It's your unique driver profile, vehicle, and location that allow insurance companies to tailor a price to your situation. That said, for DUI drivers to be on the road legally, they're looking at a monthly average premium of $342. How does the Volunteer State compare to the rest of the country? It ranks 31st for most expensive DUI car insurance in the nation. And you might lower the rate by sticking to the state minimum coverage. If you own an older car, consider dropping comprehensive and collision coverage.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Like in many states, Tennessee law sets the lookback period to 10 years. That means another DUI within that time lets prosecutors charge you as a repeat offender. Fortunately, insurance companies stop their checks at three years, although some push it to five years.
So how can you save while you wait? In Tennessee, three best practices have made a difference for people. You should compare quotes and coverages, practice defensive driving to avoid tickets and accidents, and shop around every six months for a deal.
As you might expect, the severity of the punishment goes up as you increase the number of DUIs and your BAC. First-time offenders face jail time of 48 hours to 11 months, a fine between $350 and $1,500, a license suspension for one year, and a possible ignition interlock device requirement. Refusing a test carries an automatic one-year license suspension.
Drivers under the age of 21 can be convicted if their BAC is .02 or higher. They face penalties that include community service, a fine of $250, and a license suspension of one year.