Being convicted of a DUI can have lasting effects on more than just your driving record. In North Dakota, it can also mean that your monthly auto insurance rates will increase. Depending on the number of DUIs on your record and how severe the violation is, you may pay nearly double the rates of drivers without any incidents. The best way to still find affordable rates is by shopping around at different insurance companies.
Since insurers see DUIs as one of the worst single driving violations you can have on your driving record, it can take time to find the right coverage. To make the process of comparing multiple quotes quick and easy, Insurify allows you to view more than 20 insurance companies all at once. Simply answer a few questions, and you will be given a list of quotes to sort through as you find the perfect car insurance plan.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Regardless of what state you are in, a DUI violation will have a negative impact on your auto insurance rates. In North Dakota, having an incident on your driving record can result in an increase to an average rate of $309.18. This 86.25 percent hike in price is attributed to insurance companies assessing a higher risk rating to drivers with violations.
Normally, drivers with no DUI instances pay an average of $166. That means one violation can result in an additional $143.18 per month for coverage. With time—and if you maintain a clean driving record—most insurers will eventually lower your rates.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
One way to find affordable rates if you have a DUI in North Dakota is to shop around at various insurance companies. Some insurers will still offer competitive rates if you only have one incident on your record or if it has been a significant amount of time since the DUI. Two places that you should include in your search are American Family Insurance and The General. Both offer affordable coverage with averages of $150.50 and $179.46, respectively.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$151|
North Dakota is currently ranked as the 39th most expensive state for car insurance if you have a DUI. Comparatively, they are five times less expensive than the costliest state on the list, Michigan. However, they are still $100 more expensive than Alaska, which ranks as the least expensive state on the list.
Drivers who live in North Dakota can expect to pay on average $309.18 for coverage if there is a DUI violation on their record. Depending on how many instances a driver has had within a short time frame, that price can be hundreds of dollars higher.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
DUI violations fall into the priorable offense category, which means that any DUI after the first will carry a stricter penalty than the prior instance. There are limitations to how long a DUI will stay on your record and count against you for sentencing and penalty purposes in North Dakota. This period of time is referred to as the lookback period.
For drivers in North Dakota, the length of the lookback period is dependent on how many DUIs are on the driving record. The first, second, and third violations have a period of seven years, while fourth and subsequent instances last for the driver's life.
North Dakota is more forgiving than most other states when it comes to first-time DUI violations. While their penalties do carry weight behind, they are more focused on providing help to those with substance abuse problems. Drivers who receive their first DUI and had a .16 or below blood alcohol level can expect to have a $500 fine and a license suspension for 91 days.
Motorists who accumulate multiple DUI violations within the seven-year lookback period do face harsher penalties, some of which can result in fees as high as $2,000 and 366 days in jail. However, the state also makes addiction evaluation, participation in a 24/7 sobriety program, and supervised probation a part of the penalties as well.