Drivers pulled over for a DUI in Louisiana face tough consequences. For some, many of these aren't realized until months later—like when the car insurance bill arrives, and it's more than expected. Why does insurance take a hit? After a DUI, insurance companies take less kindly to those with risky driving behavior. They raise your rates to recoup the losses for claims you've already made or may make in the future.
As the fifth most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI, Louisiana has insurance rates that are higher than nearly every other state in the nation. Though the state average for insurance premiums after a DUI is $600, shopping around may help you find better rates than that average.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Getting past a DUI takes a long time. Not only because there are so many unforeseen consequences (like raised insurance rates) but also because it takes time for insurance companies to forgive your driving mistakes. Drivers in Louisiana will pay $287 more for car insurance after a DUI conviction. Not only is this a 91 percent increase over their original rates, it's an increase that they'll pay month after month for three to five years.
After a DUI is an excellent time to shop around since you never know what pricing and discounts are out there. Keep in mind that the average motorist in Louisiana will pay just over $600 a month with DUIs on their record.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
For drivers with a clean record, insurance options are endless. When you start making mistakes, you narrow your choices. How? Because not every insurance carrier is willing to take on DUI drivers—especially if it's their second or third offense. Still, you can find providers willing to provide cheap coverage in Louisiana, including The General and American Family Insurance.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$339|
The costs of a DUI add up quickly. Fines, surcharges, and court-related fees don't paint an accurate picture by themselves. Even after you've gotten past all those payments, more financial consequences follow. Specifically, you'll find yourself facing increased insurance rates after this risky behavior.
Regardless of how perfect your driving record was before, Louisiana drivers with past DUIs pay around $600.44 per month for insurance. If that sounds high, it's because it is. Only four states are more expensive for insurance after a DUI than Louisiana : Michigan, Rhode Island, New York, and Delaware.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Just how long will you be looking over your shoulder with a DUI? The answer isn't that simple. In Louisiana, a DUI remains on your criminal record forever. It will always turn up on a background check, for example. However, there's a limit to the amount of time the state can hold it against you. The state has a 10-year lookback period for DUI arrests and convictions. This means that all DUIs you get within 10 years are considered when it comes to the court.
If you get a DUI today, for example, the state considers any DUIs you may have received within the last 10 years along with it. A DUI from three years ago would count as your first offense and today's DUI your second.
Louisiana DUI penalties will cost you both money and time. Depending on the offense, you can get a maximum of up to 2,000 in fines, five years in jail, 240 hours of community service, and 12 months in a treatment program. A third offense in Louisiana is a felony.
First and second offenses are not without cost and inconvenience. Fines in these instances are up to $1,000, and drivers can spend up to six months in jail as well as time in driver improvement classes. Any offense can result in a driver's license suspension.