With over 3.2 million registered vehicles on North Carolina’s roadways, a reliable auto insurance policy is essential for drivers of all ages and backgrounds.
This guide to North Carolina car insurance will get you on the right path to the perfect policy to fit you and your lifestyle. Compare the cheapest and best quotes in North Carolina here.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Carolina
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in North Carolina for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in North Carolina.
Best Auto Insurance Quotes in North Carolina
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in North Carolina. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
|Insurance Company||Composite Score||Quotes|
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in North Carolina
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), these are the most popular car insurance companies in North Carolina by market share:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Carolina by City
Auto insurance costs will vary between locations and insurance providers. Insurify analyzed the latest data for the five most populous cities in North Carolina to find you the cheapest quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
Many populous cities across the United States are notoriously difficult to navigate due to high congestion and traffic. Lucky for North Carolinians, Charlotte, the most populous city in the state, is actually known as one of the best cities to drive in the U.S.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Carolina by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in North Carolina based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
Cheap Car Insurance for Good Drivers
For North Carolina drivers with a clean driving record free of moving violations, auto insurance rates may be significantly lower. Allstate offers the best options for good drivers in North Carolina, at $33 a month. With both cheaper premiums and additional safe driving discounts, it can truly pay to have a record free of accidents or traffic tickets.
Cheap Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers in North Carolina, including those with one or more traffic violations, may have to pay more on their car insurance premiums. Titan offers the cheapest annual cost for high-risk drivers in North Carolina with monthly costs at $18 for car owners with DUIs. Progressive offers the lowest premiums for drivers with accidents at $49/month and $49 for speeders. Auto coverage is often much pricier for high-risk drivers.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with DUI in North Carolina
Everybody makes mistakes and has to deal with the fallout. The fallout for a DUI is rough: court fines, reinstatement fees, SR-22 filing, and years of paying more for car insurance to name only a few. Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI is no small feat. If you find yourself really struggling to get an affordable rate, consider only carrying liability coverage as a way to save.
Here are the best rates we could find for North Carolina drivers with a DUI:
|GMAC Insurance Group||$61/month|
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$189/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident in North Carolina
The sinking feeling after realizing you’ve caused an accident is no exaggeration. Even a tiny fender bender can raise rates to levels that significantly alter your budget. If you’ve paid for accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. If not: discounts, discounts, discounts.
And comparison shopping at least every time your policy is up for renewal: insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years while the other looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$54/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Speeding Drivers in North Carolina
The need for speed can soon turn into the need for a new budget. Speeding tickets can affect people differently. But essentially, the more often you speed—and the higher your mph—the more points you’ll receive on your driver’s license. Higher points mean higher prices in the car insurance game.
The best way to lower costs? Slow down and find a discount program, like a defensive driving course reduction.
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$43/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers
If you’re under 40 years old in the state of North Carolina, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Since inexperienced drivers pose a higher risk for insurance providers, their rates are often significantly higher. Progressive offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $26 a month. New drivers must abide by special driving restrictions, including curfews, electronic device limitations, and passenger age restrictions. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these rules before hitting the road.
|Utica National Car Insurance||$28/month|
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$29/month|
Insurance policies for 21-year-olds generally run higher than the national average by a significant margin. Even though they’re no longer considered teen-drivers, 21-year-olds are still regarded as high-risk to insurers. To find the cheapest car insurance for 21-year-olds, use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify.
North Carolina State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in North Carolina
All motor vehicles operated or parked on North Carolina roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in North Carolina are as follows:
- $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI)
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by North Carolina state law are $30,000 for the death or injury of a single victim as a result of a car accident and $60,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. Insurance companies list this type of coverage as 30/60, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimum. In the case of an accident, liability coverage can aid perpetrators with costs involved in a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by North Carolina law.
- $25,000/accident for Property Damage (PD)
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of North Carolina is $25,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is legally required in North Carolina to cover damages and lost wages to drivers and passengers involved in an accident with an uninsured/underinsured at-fault driver.
- $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident for Bodily Injury Coverage if injured by an uninsured/underinsured driver
- $25,000 for Property Damage caused by an uninsured/underinsured driver
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage pay for repairs to your car when it’s involved in an accident or stolen. Many policies refer to this as “full coverage.” Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage are two of the three basics that make up what’s commonly called a “full coverage” auto policy (liability, collision, and comprehensive). Coverage limits will differ from policy to policy. Though not part of North Carolina’s car insurance requirements, the following supplemental coverage can save drivers cash in the long run.
Comprehensive insurance coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses/auto damage due to a collision.
Collision insurance coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”
Medical Payments, or simply Med Pay, covers reasonable medical costs for you or your passengers in the case of injury from an accident. If a car accident results in serious bodily injury, Med Pay can help ease the stress of high medical bills after a hospital visit.
Am I Liable If I Cause a Car Accident in North Carolina?
Unlike the majority of U.S. states, North Carolina uses a no-fault system of auto insurance.
As a tort liability state, an at-fault driver can be sued for damages by the victim of a car accident. The Tarheel State practices contributory negligence in personal injury law. This means that not-at-fault drivers may be barred from collecting the full amount of damages if they are found to be a percentage at fault for an accident.
Alternative Options for Car Insurance in North Carolina
For drivers who are unable to obtain proper auto insurance due to their poor credit score, DUI, or another high-risk characteristic, there is still a way to get properly insured. Auto liability insurance can be sought through the North Carolina Reinsurance Facility.
Texting and Driving in North Carolina
Using wireless devices while operating a motor vehicle is still legal throughout North Carolina.
Though there is currently no ban on wireless device use while operating motor vehicles in North Carolina, it is still illegal to text and drive. Drives can be fined $100 if cited for texting and driving. Minors are prohibited from using their cellular devices at all, even if it’s hands-free. Talking on the phone and using navigation systems while driving is entirely legal.
SR-22 Insurance in North Carolina
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these car insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of North Carolina on your behalf. North Carolina’s state licensing authority will inform drivers if they require SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, DWI, moving violation, or other serious offense, you may be required to file an SR-22.
In North Carolina, many insurance companies offer to file an SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Direct General, Esurance, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, Good2Go, National General, Progressive, Safeco, The General, and Titan.
Driving Without Insurance in North Carolina
According to the Insurance Information Institute, 6.5% of drivers in North Carolina are uninsured. If caught operating a vehicle as an uninsured driver, North Carolinians risk high fines and jail time. First-time offenders will face registration suspension, probation, and civil penalty fees of up to $50. Fines and punishments increase with subsequent offenses. Driving without insurance is a Class 1 misdemeanor in North Carolina. Driving as an uninsured motorist puts yourself and everyone around you in great danger- never drive uninsured. Uninsured motorist coverage protects drivers in the case of an accident.
North Carolina Auto Insurance FAQs
Do I need non-owner insurance in North Carolina?
Non-owner auto insurance provides coverage to people driving cars registered to someone else. If you don't own your own car and are borrowing someone else's vehicle, non-owners insurance provides liability coverage for property damage and injuries. Non-owners insurance does not, however, cover damage to a car you've borrowed or injuries sustained in an accident. You may need non-owner car insurance if you need an SR-22 form filed on your behalf, if you need car insurance to get a driver's license, if you use car-sharing services or rent frequently, want to maintain continuous auto insurance coverage (which may save you money in the long-run), or if you borrow cars frequently.
How do I get roadside assistance in North Carolina?
The North Carolina Department of Transportation provides free roadway assistance to stranded motorists through the NCDOT State Farm Safety Patrol, regardless of a driver's insurance provider. AAA also has regional clubs throughout North Carolina and can provide both roadside assistance and auto insurance coverage to NC drivers.
What provider has the cheapest car insurance in North Carolina?
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in North Carolina and save on your insurance premiums is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you're a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
It Pays to Go Green in North Carolina
The state of North Carolina offers many green driver incentives, including tax credits, repair vouchers, and replacement assistance for fuel-efficient vehicles, grants, rebates, and discounts through some car insurance companies.
North Carolina exempts fuel-efficient vehicles from HOV lane restrictions and state emissions inspection requirements.
North Carolina DMV Information
With a population nearing 11 million, it’s no wonder the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles has many outposts across the state.
At the DMV, North Carolina residents can access services like driver’s license and identification card registration and renewal, vehicle registration, and license plate pick-up, as well as insurance information and services provided by the North Carolina Department of Insurance.
Every office is open weekdays from 7 AM to 5 PM, with some locations offering additional early-morning and weekend hours. The DMV is notorious for long lines and wait times, but some services are available online and via U.S. Mail for convenience. For the shortest wait times, avoid planning your visit on Mondays and Fridays or during lunch hours, and make an appointment ahead of time by calling 919-715-7000.
To find the best insurance company and coverage based on your personal metrics, use an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify. From the Charlotte to Asheville, North Carolina drivers deserve to find the cheapest car insurance available.
Compare North Carolina car insurance companies today on Insurify.