"Was I speeding? Maybe, I forgot to turn on my lights." Your mind races through an inventory of possibilities. You roll down your window and hear, "Do you know why I stopped you?" If you had one too many drinks and blow a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, your night will end with a drunk driving ticket. It''s a common scenario in North Carolina; in 2018 alone, there were 28,614 DUI convictions.
Also called driving while impaired (DWI), DUI is a bad idea, no matter how you judge it. The consequences are possible felony charges, jail time, and pricey fines. But the financial woes don''t end with the government. Insurance companies will make sure your premium goes sky-high to offset your new level of risk. It''s not all sad news though, even with a DUI, drivers can find reasonable rates.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
DUIs disrupt freedom, family, and finances for North Carolinians. No matter how the details shake out, it's going to cost you, but just how much?
The state average is $131, and people with a perfect driving record skate below that, at $125. One wrong choice later, and the amount goes up by an unthinkable 253 percent, the nation's highest percentage of change. At $441, you shell out triple and add $316 more per month, or over $3,700 per year to your bill. With that much cash, you could afford to bring the party to your house alongside the food and drinks.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
When you have a DUI, insurance prices feel like punches to the gut. But there are a few companies that focus on knocking out the competition. American Family Insurance is the undisputed champion in North Carolina, but National General and Travelers could also be in your corner. So quote them all.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$82|
Your driver profile, vehicle, and location will make your quote and policy unique. But there's still value in seeing averages. DUI drivers can expect to spend $441 per month to keep their driving privileges. Would you believe the state with the overall second-cheapest insurance in the U.S. ranks 16th for most expensive DUI rates?
As bad as it sounds, this number is dwarfed by Michigan's $1,200 DUI premium. Perspective is everything. And why not look into lowering your cost by opting for liability only on an older car and dropping comprehensive and collision coverage? State minimum coverage might be a good place to start, too.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
North Carolina's lookback period depends on the type of DUI offense. For felonies, it's 10 years, and for misdemeanors, it's seven years. That means you must wait 10 or 7 years respectively before qualifying for first offender status again. Fortunately, insurance companies usually only look back three years, while some go as high as five.
Three years before any significant rate change? Mostly yes, but you can compare quotes, avoid tickets and accidents, and do aggressive comparison-shopping when it's time for renewal. All three methods should offer savings, and the amounts may surprise you.
North Carolina''s five level system sets Level I as the worst penalty and Level V as the most lenient. Offenders who cause severe injury or death, have prior DUIs, or drive with minors get the harshest penalties.
Grouping Levels III, IV, and V together, first offenders could face jail time of one day to six months, a fine between $200 and $1,000, a suspended license for one year, and an ignition interlock device requirement for one year. If you''re under the age of 21, North Carolina is a "zero-tolerance" state, meaning anything above .00 BAC results in a guilty conviction, carrying jail time of up to 60 days and a fine of $1,000.