As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.
If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.
Georgia Auto Insurance and COVID-19
Georgia has urged policyholders to get directly in touch with their auto insurers to discuss potential premium refunds.
Find the lowest car insurance rates in two minutes
The Peach State is keen on keeping roads safer with strict distracted driving laws.
From rural backroads and beach towns to vibrant city centers, Georgia has a lot to see and do. But don’t be caught messing with your GPS or streaming your road diary from the driver’s seat, because it’s one of 20 states with the most restrictive distracted driving laws in the nation. And committing a driving violation in Georgia could make your car insurance rates skyrocket.
So whether you’re a recent transplant or Georgia is your next vacation destination, read on to learn more about finding the best and cheapest car insurance rates in this exciting state.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Georgia for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in Georgia.
Progressive reigns supreme in Georgia for this particular driver profile. This is a good snapshot of what rates our 30-year-old star driver can expect, but the companies that are cheapest for him won’t necessarily be the cheapest for you. That’s why auto insurance quotes comparison is so important for drivers of all stripes.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia
These companies have above-average records in serving Georgian drivers’ insurance claims and providing positive customer service. Reputability, however, doesn’t always translate to the lowest rates. Ask yourself: what do I care about most, getting the cheapest quote or getting the best service? Our 30-year-old sample driver might find the cheapest quote with Progressive, but could opt to go with a higher-rated company for a few more dollars per month:
|Insurance Company||Insurify Composite Score||Quotes|
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Georgia. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies of the year.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Georgia
You’ll be surprised just how many Georgia auto insurance companies are available once you begin looking. However, even with this wide selection, there are some benefits to exploring the most popular insurance companies. Their websites are usually more developed, and there’s a better chance your Georgia neighbors are working with these providers. Below are the most popular insurance companies in Georgia based on market share (the number of people they cover in the state):
Georgia drivers are most likely to choose State Farm as their auto insurance provider. But remember, not everyone’s going to find the cheapest rate with the same insurance company. Even where you live in the state of Georgia can have an impact….
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia by City
Insurify analyzed the latest data for the five most populated cities in Georgia to find you the cheapest sample quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
Georgia’s most populous city is, of course, Atlanta—home of the world’s busiest airport and over 500,000 permanent residents. (BTW, Georgia511.org is a great place to get a lead on traffic conditions throughout the state—and is available as a mobile app).
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia by Profile
Here are the cheapest Georgia car insurance companies based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Good Drivers
If you’ve got a clean driving record and have either a reliable used car or one with advanced safety features, you’re in luck. You’ll have the easiest time finding cheap car insurance from insurance companies across the board.
|Georgia Farm Bureau||$41/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for High-Risk Drivers
It doesn’t take a lot to be considered a high-risk driver. But there’s no reason to worry about finding adequate coverage at a rate you can afford.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
|Georgia Farm Bureau||$42/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
|Georgia Farm Bureau||$42/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these car insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of Georgia on your behalf:
|Georgia Farm Bureau||$75/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
Insurance companies assume the worst about young drivers and their inexperience based on tried and true statistics on at-fault accidents. Still, you shouldn’t be punished just because you are relatively young or have a young driver on your policy. You’ll want to look into insurers who incentivize students and new drivers (by rewarding grades and driving habits) to keep rates as low as possible.
|Georgia Farm Bureau||$43/month|
Young military families score the biggest savings thanks to USAA’s famously low rates. But young drivers under 40 (you heard that right!) can still find low rates with COUNTRY Financial, Georgia Farm Bureau, Auto-Owners, and GEICO…as long as they keep their driving records pristine.
Georgia Car Insurance Laws
State car insurance laws vary. Do you know the exact amount of minimum coverage you’ll need to drive a Georgia-registered vehicle?
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Georgia
You aren’t required to have proof of insurance in your vehicle; Georgia has a database for that. However, you are required to carry a minimum coverage amount of liability insurance to cover injury and damages to the other party, should you be involved (and at-fault) in an accident.
In Georgia, this minimum liability coverage amount is:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
Adding Supplemental Insurance Coverage in Georgia
Carrying more than the minimum coverage in Georgia is optional and is referred to as supplemental coverage. Supplemental coverage can pay for your medical bills or damage to your car should you be in an accident (remember, liability coverage only covers damages and medical expenses for the other person). Here are some examples of the kinds of supplemental insurance you can buy in Georgia:
- Comprehensive coverage covers “Acts of God” like fires, floods, and tornados. If a tornado were to hurl a tree limb into your front windshield, comprehensive insurance could cover the damage. Comprehensive insurance also covers damages to your car as a result of vandalism or theft. It’s a good idea to consider the crime in your particular area when deciding on whether comprehensive might be a good investment. Both the suburbs of Marietta and the idyllic town of Savannah have comparatively high crime rates of property theft and damage.
- Collision coverage can be purchased on top of your minimum liability coverage amount to help pay for damages to your car should you be at-fault for an accident. Remember, the minimum liability coverage you are required to carry pays a specific dollar amount towards medical costs for both parties and damages to their car…but doesn’t cover damages to your car at all.
- Uninsured motorist coverage. One in 12 Georgia drivers is uninsured. That means you could walk away from an accident without any coverage for your car or medical expenses, even if the other party was at fault. Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) and uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage provide you peace of mind if you’re in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. Uninsured motorist coverage also protects if you are in a pedestrian accident with an uninsured driver, a passenger in a car hit by an uninsured driver, or a victim of a hit and run.
Showing Proof of Insurance in Georgia
Georgia residents don’t have to present an insurance card to prove that they have insurance (yay for all of us unorganized folks!).
If you’re stopped, the officer instead checks a database called the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS).
This database allows government agencies, including law enforcement officers, to electronically verify that you have valid car insurance.
Insurance companies are responsible for reporting this information to the GEICS, although you’ll want to double-check that your insurance card reflects the correct information and carry it just in case.
Distracted Driving Laws in Georgia
The Hands-Free Georgia Act took effect July 1, 2018, and applies to drivers throughout the state.
Previously, some Georgia counties issued their own distracted driving laws. These laws are no longer in effect. Today, all Georgia residents must comply with the statewide act. What does Georgia consider distracted driving?
- Holding a mobile device or resting it on any part of the body.
- Texting, emailing, or using social media while driving.
- Watching videos while driving (GPS/Navigational videos are allowed).
- Recording a video while driving (continuously running dash cams are allowed).
- Using their phone to control or connect to music while driving.
For comprehensive information on Georgia’s distracted driving laws, the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety posts some easy-to-read information and videos.
If you’ve been cited for distracted driving and facing a rise in your car insurance premiums, it may be an excellent time to start insurance shopping for better rates.
Additional Highway Safety Laws in Georgia
Georgia is serious about keeping its roads safe. The Georgia Department of Public Safety provides easy-to-understand access to all of the different highway safety laws that you are interested in reviewing, including:
- DUI Laws in Georgia
- Georgia Impaired Driving Laws and Penalties
- Georgia Seat Belt Law
- Teenage and Adult Responsibility Act
- Georgia’s Pickup Truck Law
- Moveover Law
- Georgia’s Hands-free Law
- Open Container Law
- Aggressive Driving Law
Immigrant Driver Registration in Georgia
If you’re from out of the country and just visiting for vacation or business, you can drive on Georgia roads as long as you have a valid foreign driver’s license.
However, if you plan on living here or have already established residency, you have 30 days to obtain a Georgia driver’s license. A non-U.S. citizen would be considered a resident of Georgia if he or she meets any of the following criteria:
- If a person accepts employment or engages in trade in Georgia, and enrolls his or her children in private or public school within ten days after the commencement of employment; or
- If a person has been present in the state for 30 or more days.
SR-22 Insurance in Georgia
Georgia drivers who have had their license suspended or revoked must file an SR-22, or a statement of financial responsibility, with their local Department of Drivers Services.
An SR-22 demonstrates that you are able to pay for minimum liability car insurance while your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked. In Georgia, the minimum filing period for an SR-22 is three years.
The state of Georgia requires three different types of SR-22 forms:
- Non-owner operator’s certificate: Covers you if you don’t currently own a vehicle.
- Owner’s certificate: Covers you and the cars you currently own.
- Owner-operator’s certificate: Covers all the cars you drive, regardless of who owns them.
The following car insurance companies with file an SR-22 in the state of Georgia on your behalf: Acceptance, Aggressive, Alfa, Ameriprise, AssuranceAmerica, Dairyland, Direct General, Esurance, Everest National, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, Gainsco, GEICO, Good2Go, Grange, Infinity, Jupiter Auto, Mendota, Mercury, National General, Progressive, SafeAuto, Safeco, Safeway, The General, Titan, United Auto, and Victoria.
Georgia Auto Insurance FAQs
How fast can I get an insurance quote in Georgia?
If you need an insurance quote quickly, going with an online insurance company is going to be your best bet. Many times all that's required for a free quote is to fill out a form and click "send." Use an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare quotes from all the top online companies to save yourself from hours of searching.
What is the average auto insurance coverage cost for a new driver in Georgia?
The cost of insuring a new driver in Georgia is going to vary from region to region and depends on things such as traffic, crime rate, and weather in your area. It's always a good idea to ask about driver discount incentives to keep your policy low. And you can look into bundling your home and/or existing auto policy with the same carrier as a means to lower rates.
Where can I get the best rate on high-risk coverage in Georgia?
Insurify has found over 25 insurance companies that can file your SR-22 paperwork and/or provide you with a high-risk insurance quote. These companies include Direct Auto, Esurance, Progressive, and The General.
Georgia DMV Information
In Georgia, you must have your insurance policy in place before you can obtain registration.
The state of Georgia does not have a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Instead, auto registration and driver’s licensing services are provided by both the Department of Drivers Services (DDS) and the Department of Revenue (DOR). The DDS helps you obtain, renew, or replace learner’s permits, ID cards, and licenses; the DOR helps you register your vehicle, get license plates, and pay your vehicle taxes.
- To transfer your driver’s license: If you are new to the state, you have 30 days within moving to Georgia to transfer your driver’s license. If you hold an Out of State or Foreign License, you will be required to bring additional proof of ID.
- To transfer your vehicle registration: You have 30 days from the date you establish Georgia residence to transfer your vehicle’s registration, title, and plate from another state. You’ll need to visit your county tag office to do so.
- Residents of Metro Atlanta must provide proof of emissions inspection to register (or renew the registration for) their vehicles.
- Online services include the ability to pay fees, change your address, even apply for a for-hire driver endorsement (think Uber driver). Many of these services require you to create an account. Some do not.
Georgia treats highway safety seriously, which is good to know when you are driving on its highways, city streets, and rural roads.
It’s also good to know that you can find a wide range of car insurance rates that will fit your budget and lifestyle. Sure, you could get a car insurance quote from State Farm, Allstate, or GEICO by walking into any local agent’s office. Or you could save yourself the time, trip, and broken trust by comparing quotes online.
Find and compare the best auto insurance rates online quickly and easily with Insurify.
Compare Georgia car insurance quotes today on Insurify.