"How much have you had to drink?" It's a question that late-shift officers repeatedly ask, especially between midnight and 3 a.m. on weekends. Then, they proceed to the field sobriety test, and if you blow a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or higher, the cop will ticket you for drunk driving. The stats say you likely won't be the only one that night because, in 2019 alone, there were 19,208 convictions.
Driving while intoxicated breaks the law, but it also breaks the bank. Most people kiss their savings goodbye after jail time, lawyer fees, and hefty fines. On top of that, commuting to work will cost more because insurance companies charge some of their highest rates to DUI drivers. The state just misses the top 10 list for most expensive, but creative Georgians will find a way to stay on the road.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
What do DUIs really cost? The answer is different for every person, but it's also the same : more than you want to pay. That adage definitely applies to the car insurance bill.
The state average is $354, and people with a clean driving record skate below that, at $309. That extra drink kicks the premium up by an astounding 71 percent, to $530. Compared to a clean record, it adds $221 per month, or over $2,600 per year. That's a nice chunk of change and plenty of reason to hand a friend the keys or hop in a Lyft.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
When insurance companies don't want your business, they charge what only Jeff Bezos could afford. But some insurance companies throw a bone to those with bumps and bruises on their records. Many drivers will flock to Freedom National, at $163. Mile Auto, a pay-per-mile company, and Travelers should earn a spot on your checklist too.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$244|
Everyone understands that no two drivers are exactly alike, but we look at averages to paint a helpful picture. In the Peach State, DUI drivers pay $530 per month to stay on the road. That high number means Georgia ranks 11th in the nation for most expensive DUI car insurance.
For the sake of perspective, Michigan residents with the same conviction shell out more than double, at $1,200 per month. At that price, Georgians will keep the humidity and let those up north have the cold. While you're warming up to your premium, think about quoting your car at the state minimum, and watch the changing cost as you add coverage.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Georgia has two lookback periods. The courts go back 10 years when deciding if you're a repeat offender or not, but the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) only goes back five years when determining how a conviction will change your license status. Five years is the longest period insurance companies check, but the majority limit it to three.
If you're looking at three years before seeing your price change, how can you lower rates today? Compare multiple quotes, avoid adding any other accidents or violations to your record, and get quotes again every six months.
In Georgia, the number of offenses, officer evasion, and causing severe injury or death all increase the punishment level. If this is your first DUI, you can expect jail time of 10 days to 12 months, a fine between $300 and $1,000, community service for 40 hours, and a license suspension of 12 months.
Drivers under the age of 21 face similar penalties, except it's jail time for 24 hours to 12 months, community service for 20 hours, and a license suspension of six months. Everyone who gets a DUI will be required to attend the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program.